Sleeping in on a Saturday

“Sleeping in on a Saturday”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Very early this morning, I went out to look check out how things were doing in the garden, something I haven’t been able to do for a few days.  As I was checking out the new blooms on the Clematis Crispa vine, I spied a sleeping bee.  Even though the photo below makes it  look like it is visiting a flower for its nectar, take it from me it was sleeping.

 

Sleeping Bee in Clem Crispa (redu)

 

He/she must have been sleeping soundly because the camera’s flash didn’t wake it up.  Being that the temperature was 75 degrees, I don’t think that it was a cool early morning sluggishness which kept it from being startled by the sudden flash.  Maybe it had worked hard all week, and since it was a Saturday, it decided to sleep in.

11 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    September 26, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Interesting find.

  2. bangchik said,

    September 26, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Sleeping?…But their lives too short, I don’t suppose they really want to sleep. Even if they sleep, it must a short one… a bee nap!… ~cheers,~bangchik

  3. Sunita said,

    September 27, 2009 at 6:14 am

    Well, that’s one bee that’s having sweet dreams for sure! ;D

  4. Sunita said,

    September 27, 2009 at 6:15 am

    Or maybe she’s actually Sleeping Bee-auty!

  5. September 27, 2009 at 9:07 am

    What a blissful sleep that must be nestled in a flower. 🙂

  6. wiseacre said,

    September 27, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Jan,

    Thanks for stopping by my place. I tough I’d post an answer to your question here.

    White Snake-root should grow there. You’re in the plant’s range according to my field guides. (needs shade and moisture) If you would like some seeds – just ask. My email should show up in your wordpress admin section.

    Meanwhile, it’s cold and drizzly here and a nap sounds like a good idea.

  7. Lana said,

    September 27, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Wow…how unusual! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Carol said,

    September 27, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    I too find sleeping or slow bees… on the sedum right now… in the early AM… I am wondering if some may be at the end of their life… I hope it is just sleep… not sure how long bees live… mine finds are wild honey bees.

  9. September 27, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Sleep tight sweet baby—so serene.

  10. Sue said,

    September 29, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I noticed sleeping bees this summer, too. At least one woke up after I moved the flower it was on while taking photos.

  11. Sue said,

    September 29, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    I like your photo here and the others on your blog.


Leave a Reply

