Fringes

“Fringes”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Loropetalum blooms on the new wood, but I usually trim it back after it blooms in the spring, so I don’t get an autumn flush of flowers.  This year, however, I didn’t do the usual triming, and I have been rewarded with a very nice display of pink.

 

Lorepetlum (redu)

 

I keep the shrubs I have trimmed back to about four and a half feet tall, but they can grow up to six feet.  This means that this year I won’t be able to trim them back since trimming them back now will spur new growth that could be damaged by winter freezes.  But, this year won’t matter since I have such pretty flowers.  One of the things that make this plant so different is its blooms.  Instead of the usual big petals such as azaleas, hibiscus, or roses have, loropetalum has thin streamers which show its relation to witch hazel.

 

Lorepetlum Single (redu)

 

Seeing these flowers, we know why this plant is called “fringe flower.”

7 Comments

  1. Nell Jean said,

    September 28, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    I picked this post before I even read it, because Loropetalum is one of my favorite shrubs. Trees, even. I let most of mine grow into tree forms. Do you have a white Loropetalum? Michael Dirr said some years back that the white was not worth bothering with, but they’re popular now.

  2. September 28, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    I really like this shrub and just got a white dwarf variety from Southern Living plants. So pretty and dainty but the shrub is hardy.

  3. nancybond said,

    September 28, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    They look like a pink witch hazel. 🙂 Very pretty…and you just have to love pink in September!

  4. Janet said,

    September 28, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I really like the Loropetalums that are out now, some are really small. I have a neighbor whose L. are about 6 feet tall. It is so grand when all are in bloom.

  5. Gail said,

    September 29, 2009 at 6:36 am

    They really are charmers when they bloom….and you can certainly see their resemblance to a witch hazel flower. gail

  6. tina said,

    September 29, 2009 at 8:00 am

    It is a really really nice shrub. They sell it up here in my area but it is not reliably hardy so I’ve not tried it. Sure wish it were though. Lovely pinks! Have a great fall day. It is most cool up here. Take care.

  7. Sweet Bay said,

    September 29, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    It’s so nice to have a shrub that blooms spring and fall. The color of the flowers is lovely.


Leave a Reply

