Overgrown

“Overgrown”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Why oh why couldn’t we have had all this rain in July and August when we really needed it?  We had .8 inches of rain Friday and 1.17 inches today with more predicted for the overnight hours.  All the garden plants are responding to this rain with tremendous growth.  Saturday was a day for trimming back.  I couldn’t believe my eyes when I went around the corner of the house and saw the Cat’s Whiskers plants.  They had grown so much and were smothering the Iceberg roses, Amaryllis, and Louisiana irises that are planted nearby.  I cut them back severely which broke my heart since they were in full bloom, but it had to be done to allow the other plants to get some light and air.  I know with all this rain, the Cat’s Whiskers will be blooming again in no time.

Another plant taking over has been the Margarite sweet potato vine.  I have this planted in several areas and every one had to be trimmed back.  Most vines were growing into the lawn.

 

Sweet Pot. Vine 2 (redu)

 

The vines in the garden bed next to the back patio were taking over the patio, plants, and the lawn.  Some vines in nearby areas were growing into the lawn and up trees as you can see in the next photo.  After trimming back just the Margarite vines, I had a whole garbage can full of vines that went on the compost pile.

 

Sweet Pot. Vine (redu)

 

The plumbago, Mexican petunias, and several more plants had to be trimmed back.  I sure wish all this growth would have happened earlier in the summer when it usually does.  I thought the garden looked a little skimpy and could have used a little of the lushness we are getting now.  Well, better late than never I guess.

8 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    October 4, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I swore off sweet potato vines after having to cut them back numerous times over the summer. I had them in my front porch containers and felt like you needed a machete` to get in the front door.
    I really liked the Cat’s Whiskers, saw some in person at the Botanical Garden and I remembered you had mentioned them.

  2. Lana said,

    October 4, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    They’re lovely vines, even IF they’re overrunning your place! *L*

  3. fairegarden said,

    October 5, 2009 at 4:41 am

    Hi Jan, yes, the key word this fall has been rain, and lots of it. This is very different from our normal falls, September is our lowest rainfall month of the year with average of two inches. This year it was over fifteen inches. And it is still raining. So much for all those xeric plantings! Your cat’s whiskers is such a beauty, but you can’t sacrifice the roses and things so it’s all about tough love! Loved your happy poem too, it certainly brought a smile here. 🙂
    Frances

  4. October 5, 2009 at 9:10 am

    I’ve never planted potato vines in the ground…. only in containers. They are beautiful but I can understand how they can be annoying crowding out everything else.

  5. October 5, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    jan, we had first rain yesterday in last few months. That was much awaited and although it was not heavy it was a source of relief. your climbers are looking lovely.

  6. Carol said,

    October 5, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I love all the shades of green… your vine being the more chartreuse… they are quite lovely…it seems rain comes as it pleases… no matter our objection… the nerve.

  7. Kiki said,

    October 5, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I think it’s a wonderful sign of abundance ..and maybe even more abundance coming your way in some form! I say welcome it in! I think nature is always communicating with us even in the smallest of ways! Enjoy!! Great photos!!

  8. October 5, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I want cat whiskers! I saw it a few years ago at our garden center and then forgot about it. Your vines are huge and lush and even if they are lots of work—they are worth it in my garden. I like the lime green contrast.

    The rain schedule drives me nuts too.


Leave a Reply

