Spectacular White

“Spectacular White”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

White flowers, love them or hate them.  Many people don’t like white flowers, they go for flowers with color.  My dear hubby is one of those people.  He says white flowers are for funerals; he wants color.  As for me, I love white flowers.  In the heat of summer white flowers with a background of green makes the day seem cooler.  I like the way white flowers stand out on cloudy days and in the early morning or early evening light.  One of my favorite white flowers happens to be the Iceberg rose.

 

Iceberg (redu)

 

Mine have just started blooming again since we have had so much rain after a dry summer.  I think this is the best flush of blooms since I planted them three years ago.  I know you are probably tired of seeing and hearing about my Icebergs, but every time I walk by and see such perfect blooms, I just have to take a photo.  I think this particular white flower is just spectacular.

9 Comments

  1. October 8, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    There’s something so serene about white flowers. I love them next to great looking foliage like hosta. This rose is gorgeous. -Jackie

  2. Tatyana said,

    October 8, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Brilliant snow white color! I never had it, but heard nice things about it -hardiness, fragnance, etc.

  3. Jake said,

    October 9, 2009 at 12:03 am

    I like white flower’s for many of the reason’s you listed. Even if I can’t see the plant at night, I love to be able to see the bloom. They are great for full moon night’s. Is the Iceberg Rose from the developer’s of the Knokout Series or is that another white Rose?

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      October 9, 2009 at 4:08 am

      Jake, the white rose from the Knockout series is White Out. I’ll be buying some of those as soon as I see one locally.

  4. Noelle said,

    October 9, 2009 at 12:33 am

    I love Iceberg roses too!

  5. LeSan said,

    October 9, 2009 at 12:51 am

    I love your icebergs! I also very much appreciate a white flower or foliage for that matter. White is delicately beautiful, it gives the eye a rest and can make the color of other flowers really sing.

  6. Kiki said,

    October 9, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Beautiful!! I think white flowers are stunning..and I agree, they look amazing on cloudy days and even near the evenings! Beautiful photo..gorgeous!

  7. Phillip said,

    October 9, 2009 at 7:31 am

    I love white flowers as long as they don’t become dingy. I used to have ‘Iceberg’ rose in my former garden. It was outstanding.

  8. Sweet Bay said,

    October 9, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I love white flowers. I came to appreciate them when I saw how well they showed up in shade gardens, and now I love them anywhere in the garden. Not only are they beautiful in and of themselves, they set off colors so well!


Leave a Reply

