Another Great Salvia

“Another Great Salvia”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today was the first cool day we have had in over a week.  During the workweek, we had record high temperatures into the low 90’s – ugh!  While today was cooler, it was very overcast with occasional light rain which meant no going out into the garden.  Yesterday after work, I was able to at least take a stroll around and water a few plants which were looking parched.

One plant that is doing very well is the Mexican Bush Sage (Salvia leucantha).  This perennial with its blue-green foliage and wonderful purple flowers has quickly become a mainstay in the garden.  I planted some last year and also took cuttings which I placed in the back garden.  This spring I bought two more plants to add to the side garden.  What turned out to be a serendipitous difference has only recently showed up.  The ones I planted last year have purple flowers while the ones planted this year have white ones.

The flowers are really rather small, it is the purple calyces that last the longest and are the most noticable on these plants.

 

Purple Mex Heather (redu)

 

I can’t decide if I like the all purple or the white and purple better.

 

Wh Mex Bush Sage (redu)

 

What I did find interesting was a bee on the salvia getting ready to spend the night.  It was just holding on to the underside of a flower.  Since it was early evening with the sun just about ready to set and I have found bumble bees under flowers or leaves early in the morning, I figured this little guy was getting ready for some shut-eye.  Unfortunately, just as I took the second photo, he must have felt the neighborhood was too busy for a good night’s sleep and flew off for new accommodations.

 

Bee on Mex Sage (redu)

8 Comments

  1. Sweet Bay said,

    October 10, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    I *love* Mexican Bush Sage. It’s my very favorite salvia. It’s gorgeous by itself and complements so many things.

  2. Janet said,

    October 10, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I have seen more Mexican Bush Sage this year than any year previous. I have only seen the purple and white one, though the all purple one is a nice shade of purple. Oh decisions decisions!

  3. Noelle said,

    October 10, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I just love the flowers on this plant. I grew one a long time ago and it did great. I think I need to go get a new one now.

  4. Teresa said,

    October 10, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Such a beautiful shade of purple. Great pictures!

  5. Sue said,

    October 11, 2009 at 7:55 am

    I don’t think I have that kind of sage. It sure is lovely! Of course, bees are always a nice addition.

  6. Lana said,

    October 11, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    A friend of mine gave me some of this plant for my yard, but like everything else, it died (unfortunately.) Just yesterday I noticed dozens of bumblebees clinging to our prolific goldenrod–I thought of your own “sleeping bee” post immediately. I’ve got a pic of a couple of them up on my blog, if you’re interested.

  7. LeSan said,

    October 12, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    I love the rich swath of color these plants make. That was a great shot of the bee. I never even thought of them sleeping let alone using flowers as a Motel 6.

  8. Nell Jean said,

    October 12, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    I like the solid purple best because it shows up darker from a distance.


Leave a Reply

