Changeable Rose Mallow

“Changeable Rose Mallow”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I need to start looking up more.  This morning I was surprised to see that the Confederate Rose (Hibiscus mutabilis) has started blooming.  I don’t know how I missed it Saturday, even though it has just started blooming.  The flowers are big – about eight to nine inches across.  I guess it is because I am rather vertically challenged and my Confederate Rose is now a tree so the flowers are up high.

 

Conf Rose -Early (redu)

 

The photo above was taken early in the morning.  These flowers start out a pale pink and gradually darken to a deep pink by afternoon, hence the mutabilis part of the botanical name.  While I like the color of the flowers, it is the fact that they show up in autumn just when the garden needs a jolt of color.

 

Conf Rose -Late (redu)

 

The second photo was taken later in the day and shows the darkening of the earlier paler pink color.  The different colors can show up all at the same time if some flowers are in the sun and others are in the shade. 

Today, was off-and-on rainy day.  When we have a dry day, I’ll post a photo of the whole tree in bloom.  It really is something to see.

4 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    October 11, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    What an interesting bloom. I have read about it but this fall blogging has shown me what it looks like. So is it in your pink garden or…..?

  2. Lana said,

    October 11, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    A friend of mine (also in Cov.,) has one of these trees. They’re just fabulous!

  3. Gail said,

    October 12, 2009 at 8:08 am

    jan, They are a lovely pink and age beautifully. I wish I could grow a sweet rose like this here…More trees would have to come down. gail

  4. LeSan said,

    October 12, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    What a special treat to have this pretty thing blooming in the fall! I am going to look these up to see if I can grow it in my garden. I could use something vertical with such pretty flowers.


Leave a Reply

