Rainy Days and Shampoo

“Rainy Days and Shampoo”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Do you ever get sick of having the same weather all the time?  It has been raining an awful lot lately, and today was no exception except it waited until I was home from work about five minutes before the rains started.  So far today, we have received just over an inch of rain.  I have a long list of garden chores that need to be done this month, but as of today, nothing has gotten done.  I mean nothing.  Either it is raining, just finished raining or about to start raining.  So discouraging.

But, on a lighter note, one plant that is doing very well with all this rain is the pine cone ginger.  I know I have posted a lot about this new plant (for me), but bear with me.  With all this rain, spaces on the “pine cone” have filled up with water.

 

Pinecone Ginger (redu)

 

The other day when I went to take this photo, I squeezed the “cone” and was surprised to find how fragrant the water was.  It had a honeysuckle aroma, and I could feel a lanolin-type softness in the liquid.  I understand fully now why this is also called shampoo ginger.  The liquid I felt would probably make a great shampoo for your hair as the people in Asia and Hawaii have found and use it for just this purpose.

I don’t know how much longer the red pine cone will last, but it does not seem to be fading yet.  I hope all this rain doesn’t bring about an early demise.

7 Comments

  1. Sheila said,

    October 12, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    It looks lovely!

  2. Lana said,

    October 12, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    I bet that water would’ve been nice added to a hot bath!

  3. Janet said,

    October 12, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Keep posting pictures of this one! What an interesting plant and very unusual.

  4. Sweet Bay said,

    October 12, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Very cool! Sounds like better shampoo than I can buy at the store. 🙂

  5. October 12, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    What an interesting plant! I love the scent of ginger. I hope it dries up for you soon. -Jackie

  6. October 13, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    It’s very pretty and the scent must be lovely. I’ve never seen anything like it!

  7. donna said,

    October 13, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    As usual, I learn something new when I visit your blog. Sorry about all the rain, but because of the rain you squeezed the cone and discovered the fragrant water.


Leave a Reply

