A Jewel of a Seed

“A Jewel of a Seed”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Seeds are amazing.  A tiny embryonic plant and some stored food covered by a seed coat is all that is in a seed, but this is enough to insure that life goes on.  It often puzzles me that we don’t pay more attention to seeds.  Of course, there are those who gather seeds and sow them, those that buy their seeds to sow, and those that never bother with seeds at all.  I belong to the first two groups, but today I wanted to show off a very particular seed.

 

Mag Seed on Holly Fern (redu)

 

The above photo is a Southern magnolia (Magnolia grandiflora) seed that just happened to fall and land on a holly fern.  The drop of red on the dark green leaves caught my eye last Saturday. The shiny, bright red seed is about half an inch long and looks like a varnished bead or a semi-precious opaque jewel.  I have often wondered if it would be possible to make jewelry out of these pretty seeds.  I don’t think so because the seed is really encased in what I guess would be the fruit, and I am sure that would dry out too fast to last for jewelry or crafts.

Magnolias must be pretty easy to grow from seed because with just two in our yard, there are always a magnolia seedling showing up here and there.  At this time of year, these bright red seeds peeking out from their seedpods can really brighten up a deary fall day.  Something we often take for granted deserves a second look.

10 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    October 13, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    It is like a jewel… and bright and promising. Lovely photo and thoughts. Carol

  2. Janet said,

    October 13, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    I love how bright red these seeds are. The first time I saw some, I wasn’t sure it was a Magnolia….unaware they had such bright red seeds. They are really pretty. I love your photo of the seed against the holly leaves. Nice contrast.
    btw- changed my comment parameters so WordPress folks can comment on my blog.

  3. Sweet Bay said,

    October 13, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    Fall fruits are beautiful aren’t they?

    From a fellow seed-lover. 🙂

  4. james said,

    October 13, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    hi, Just drop by from Blotanical.
    That look like a sweet on the leaves. So lovely.
    Thanks for sharing.

  5. Sylvia (England) said,

    October 14, 2009 at 4:12 am

    Jan, I do agree in a warm year the magnolia’s here have some weird and wonderful seeds/fruits. Shinning bright pink on the trees they look like some sort of growth, I think most people wonder what they are the first time they see them. I haven’t tried growing them, it would be fun to have enough room to grow magnolias from seed, by that I mean room for the plant to grow!

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

  6. vrtlaricaana said,

    October 14, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Beautifull picture and colors!
    I have Magnolia Stelata (white one) and now you gave me idea that I should try to grow a new plant from its seeds… thanks!

  7. donna said,

    October 14, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    What a pretty photo. Would make a nice holiday card.

  8. October 14, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    I’ve never seen a magnolia seed before. How interesting! -Jackie

  9. April said,

    October 15, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Hi Jan! I am starting a seed swap. I KNOW you have tons of goodies to share! If you are interested please leave a comment on my latest post. We would love to have you!

  10. Lana said,

    October 19, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Wow…I don’t think I’ve seen magnolia seeds before. I’ll definitely keep more of an eye out now!


Leave a Reply

