A Glorious Day

“A Glorious Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

After weeks of unseasonably warm, humid, and rainy weather, a cool front came through late Thursday and brought in wonderful weather.  Lows in the 40’s and highs in the 60’s plus sunshine has meant a glorious weekend.  Doubling the pleasure, this weekend was the garden show at the New Orleans Botanical Gardens.  This twice yearly garden show is a highlight of my garden year.  This year just one sister and my daughter made the trip with me to New Orleans’ City Park where the show is held.  The Botanical Gardens were looking so good after all the rain we have had.  (October is usually our driest month.)  It will take a few posts to get through everything we saw.

One of the best things about the garden show is the plant sales. 

 

Vendors (redu)

 

Of course, I couldn’t resist buying a few things.  Fall is a big planting time in this mild climate, and today, I planted everything I bought.  Unfortunately, nothing was in bloom, so there are no photos of my purchases.  I bought four daylilies: Billye Red, Red Orbit, Rosette, and Frank Gagney.  I also bought Hedychium coccineum “Disney” which has gorgeous orange/apricot flowers.  I have seen this on several blogs and was impressed with the flowers.  When I saw the muhly grass blooming, I had to get another one since one of mine really declined this summer and needed to be replaced.  Lastly, there was a vendor selling day-blooming cereus plants, and I just had to had one.  They had so many different colors that it was hard to decide, but I finally selected a white one which is supposed to have very large flowers – nine inches across.

Now, I have a lot to look forward to next summer when all these plants start blooming.

To get back to the Gardens, though, everything looked so lovely.  One of my favorite areas was the white garden since I love white flowers so much.  The front flowers were white torenia, then came white angelina, next was the white pentas, and at the back of the borders was white cat’s whiskers.  This garden has given me some ideas of how I may want to use white flowers in my small “white” garden area.

 

White Garden (redu)

 

White Garden Clsup (redu)

 

There were several  displays throughout the gardens.  A particularly cute one was a grouping of large butterflies surrounding butterfly plants.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have a large area so that you could have something like this?

 

Lg Butterfly Display (redu)

 

There is still more I have to post about the garden show and the glorious day, but that will have to wait for tomorrow.

8 Comments

  1. Sue said,

    October 18, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    It sounds so foreign to me that now is your planting season. I am preparing to manage inside while my plants are enduring the cold temps of winter. Yes, your day does sound glorious.

  2. Janet said,

    October 18, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    What fun Jan. I am intrigued by the day blooming cereus. Will have to look up some info on it. The NO Botanical Garden looks wonderful.

  3. October 19, 2009 at 4:31 am

    Jan, marvelous pics. I wish there had been more garden shows in our area. Fall is big planting time in our climate as well. I am sure you would have enjoyed a lot.

  4. Sweet Bay said,

    October 19, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Those plant sales look dangerous!!

  5. Lana said,

    October 19, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I’ve never been to the botanical gardens–never even knew they were there, actually. Thanks for the heads up–I’m going to have to plan a visit!

  6. Phillip said,

    October 19, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    That looks like fun. I’ve never heard of a day blooming cereus. A friend just gave me a night-blooming one this year. Do you know how long it takes for them to start blooming?

  7. October 19, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Oh gosh, the butterflies are grand aren’t they? I get so excited about a plant sale too. Looks like it was the best of days and to be with family is an added treat.

  8. Melody said,

    October 20, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    What a fun day for you and your family. The gardens are lovely – maybe we will take a weekend trip to see them sometime. A couple of weekends ago my husband, daughter and I went to the plant sale at Kanapaha Gardens in Gainesville, FL, near where we live. It is a really nice way to spend a day.


Leave a Reply

