I Want That!

“I Want That!”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

The only bad thing about going to a garden show is that it creates wants.  Plant wants, garden decor wants, landscaping wants.  You get the picture.  I, too, developed the “wants”  at the garden show my sister, daughter, and I attended Saturday in the New Orleans Botanical Gardens.

I would love to have big statues in my garden.  Of course, I would also have to have a big garden to accommodate the big statues.  I remember as a young teenager going with my family to visit Zemurray Gardens during the spring azalea bloom time.  All throughout this large garden were placed large statues of mythological characters.  I was so impressed.  It looks as if I never got over my sense of grandeur.  While it is large, the sculpture below is simple, and I know would look so nice in the side garden.  Too bad I am not married to a Rothschild.

 

Statue (redu)

 

Another “want” of mine is a water feature.  Because of all the pine trees which seem to drop something (needles, cones, and small branches) just about all year, we have been very hesitant to put anything in.  A pond is just about out of the question because of all the pine tree roots (digging a large hole would be almost impossible), so an above ground water feature is the way to go.  After seeing sugar kettles outfitted with water and plants, I thought this might be a solution.  The one in the middle of the herb garden seems just about right even though it was about six feet across.  While this one is metal, I’d be satisfied with a fiberglass one.

 

Sugar Kettle (redu)

 

Finally, I spotted what I think may be a perfect solution.  A small fountain about four feet tall.  We want something that would make some noise to drown out the hum of traffic that has become more noticeable over the last few years, and while this fountain doesn’t make a huge amount of noise, it would be enough so that you would pay attention to the sound of the water instead of the sound of the cars.

 

Fountain (redu)

 

This just may be the solution to dear hubby’s Christmas gift-for-wife dilemma.

5 Comments

  1. Lana said,

    October 19, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    I was hoping to install a water feature in our backyard when we first moved in. After the first heavy rain, however, I found that our backyard IS a water feature. *LOL*

  2. October 20, 2009 at 2:25 am

    I agree it is a perfect Christmas gift Jan.

  3. Janet said,

    October 20, 2009 at 7:42 am

    Love the fleur-de-lis on the top of the fountain….very New Orleans. I saw a fountain that I have been coveting…a millstone, laying flat, with the water coming up the center hole. It is a simple water feature. (I saw on this Old House a water pump that is solar powered!!)

  4. LeSan said,

    October 20, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    I am in total agreement with you, that sculpture would look marvelous in your garden. Mine too for that matter. hehe. The water feature you chose is gorgeous. You have excellent taste. I’ll craft a letter to Santa endorsing your good behaviour this year and hopefully influence his gift giving in your favor. 🙂

  5. October 23, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    I love that statue, I am looking for one to put as a focal point at the end of my Lime Walk. Everything nice equals expensive. I think too expensive even for Christmas. Sigh…


Leave a Reply

