Living Fence

“Living Fence”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I found a very interesting fence while touring the New Orleans Botanical Gardens Saturday.  It is a “living” fence, and would make a wonderful boundary especially if an unsightly area needed to be hidden. 

 

Living Fence (redu)

 

This “fence” was about twenty-five feet long and at least eight feet tall.  It consists of long troughs about twelve inches wide and nine inches deep.  At first I thought it was made of the extra large guttering, but then I saw the undersides.

 

Living Fence Underside (redu)

 

These troughs were planted with sedums, sweet potato vines, kalanchoes, etc.  Everything seemed to be thriving.

 

Living Fence 2 (redu)

 

I was thinking that something like this would be nice on a balcony or deck.  It wouldn’t have to be as tall as this one was.  For someone who was handy with tools, a fence like this should be fairly easy to make.  It wouldn’t have to have the same type of drainage this one does.  I wonder if guttering with holes in the bottom for drainage would work?  Anyway, I would love to look out my window and see this.

 

Living Fence 3 (redu)

 

6 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    October 20, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Pretty interesting structure. I guess the levels are staggered for watering purposes. Love those large leafed sedums.

  2. donna said,

    October 21, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Wow! This living fence is amazing. I wouldn’t think 9″ deep would be deep enough for how big the plants are. They must have to be watered twice a day.

  3. Gail said,

    October 21, 2009 at 5:56 am

    I wouldn’t mind either Jan. There is an ugly cyclone fence that it could replace! It is very clever…I like it better then the hanging wall planters I’ve seen in a few design magazine. gail

  4. April said,

    October 21, 2009 at 7:46 am

    they arre so cool! I have been tempted to make one every year….but never get around to it. Maybe this year……

  5. Lana said,

    October 22, 2009 at 11:45 am

    So pretty. Back in Canada one of my friends had all kinds of stuff growing up & around their deck. It was such a great place to hang out!

  6. Duncan Page said,

    October 23, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    What a great idea – an attractive feature for any yard or garden! What kind of mesh do they use to support the beds? Is it vinyl coated?


Leave a Reply

