Floating Flowers

“Floating Flowers”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Water feature – it seems that everyone has one but me.  One of the reasons I would love to have a pond is to grow water lilies and lotus plants.  Saturday’s garden show at the New Orleans Botanical Gardens just reinforced my desire for a pond.  Of course, I can’t have one as big as theirs, but I sure would love to stroll around a pond and see these lovelies.

 

Water Lily Pink (redu)

 

The water-lily starts and slides
  Upon the level in little puffs of wind,
    Tho’ anchor’d to the bottom.

Tennyson

  

Water Lily Lav (redu)

 

I like not only the flowers but also the leaves.  Having more than just plain green lily pads is a plus for these plants.  Speaking of green lily pads, I always find the giant water lily (Victoria amazonica) fascinating.  They are so big!  The bigger ones in the photo below are about four feet across.

 

Water Lilies - Giant (redu)

 

Water Lily Wh - Giant (redu)

 

Theses “platters” have spines all along the underside to deter plant-eating fish.  This smaller one below shows the spines along the edges which haven’t flattened out yet.

 

Water Lily Sm - Giant (redu)

 

I really do enjoy seeing unusual plants that I can’t or don’t grow, and visiting this water garden certainly helped make the day.

9 Comments

  1. October 21, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    How fascinating! Like you, I don’t have a pond either, but I do enjoy seeing water lilies. It is hard to believe that the large ones are 4 ft. across!

  2. Sweet Bay said,

    October 21, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Such wonderful water lilies. I did not know that the leaves of the Giant Waterlily had spines underneath or had that puffed-up appearance when young.

  3. Ms.Chitchat said,

    October 21, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    It was a wonderful sight to see the giant lillies. These are abundantly found in Indian villages but the leaves are lush green in colour and flat. It was our past time to pour water on these leaves and see them dance and glisten during our regular visits to our grand parents’ house.

    Thanks for bringing back vivid memories.

    Please visit my blogsite whenever time permits.
    http://chitchatcrossroads.blogspot.com/

  4. Janet said,

    October 21, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Never saw the spiked lily pads before. wow

  5. james said,

    October 21, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    These tropical beauties are very common in my place but they all are so enchanting and beautiful. They are so mystical in their element that god & goddess are often associated with them.

  6. vrtlaricaana said,

    October 22, 2009 at 1:58 am

    Beautiful pictures! I also dont have a pond. I was planning to have one, but then I was thinking of all mosquitoes that would be attracted to it…
    This is very beautiful!

  7. October 22, 2009 at 7:07 am

    It’ll be a long time before I can put in a water feature – much else to do more basic – but I do love the idea. Beautiful flowers – I’ve seen photos of babies laid on those big leaves!

  8. Lana said,

    October 22, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Wow…just stunning. I also love water lilies; the flowers, the leaves, everything. So well suited to their environments & quite lovely.

  9. Carol said,

    October 22, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Beautiful and very interesting too. The plant kingdom is a realm of intrigue and joy. Carol


Leave a Reply

