What’s for Sale

“What’s for Sale”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

As my sister, daughter, and I entered the sales area of Saturday’s garden show, the mantra was “what’s for sale?”  The highlight of the trip is the plant buying.  I have already written about my purchases, but I wasn’t the only one buying.  My daughter bought several cactus plants in an effort to keep her cats from eating inside plants, and my sister bought many of the plants I did except in different colors.

But there were so many other great plants offered by vendors or grown by volunteers of the Botanical Gardens.  I would have like to have taken more home.

They had sansevieria (mother in law tongue) that was in bloom.  I have never seen this plant with a flower.

 

Sansv. Bloom (redu)

 

They had row upon row of dessert rose plants, all in different colors.

 

Dessert Rose (redu)

 

The orchids that were available were gorgeous.

 

Orchid Red (redu)

 

Orchid Orange (redu)

 

It was interesting to see all the plants available, which is one reason I am looking forward to the spring show.  With such a bounty of plants, it is a wonder I left with only seven new plants.

4 Comments

  1. james said,

    October 22, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    It happens to me too. I often wonder why I didn’t buy more when reach home and regret later. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Janet said,

    October 22, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    I have a Mother in Law’s tongue, it has bloomed two or three times, to my surprise. I have no idea what I did to help it bloom—wish I could do it again.
    I gave my oldest friend a Desert Rose– one day I will get another— it reminds me of a Dr. Seuss plant.
    I just noticed tonight that you had your name on the photos…with a ‘c’ – if you want to do a © it is Alt+0169 (while holding the Alt) Don’t want to assume you didn’t know…so, sorry if I over stepped.

  3. October 23, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I have never seen a Sanseveria bloom before….and I have grown quite a few over the years. Thank you for bringing your camera to the garden show. I always try to have my camera with me because you never know when you will find the perfect plant to take a picture of.

  4. October 28, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    I’d never seen sanseveria in bloom until last year, myself. My mom has a huge plant in her sun porch… I wonder if that’s the secret? It was amazing to see! Have a great day!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

