Finally, Pink Plumes

“Finally, Pink Plumes”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

About three weeks ago I was jealous and worried.  It seemed like everyone’s Pink Muhly grass (Muhelbergia capillaris) was blooming, and mine wasn’t.  While mine are not yet as big as Fairegarden Frances‘ clumps are, I still get excited seeing the pink plumes.  But where was mine?  Everyone north, east, and west of me had big pink plumes (I’m so far south there aren’t many people south of me).  Mine should have been blooming.  Did this mean I wouldn’t have any blooms this year?  How disappointing.

After blaming this past summer’s record heat and drought and calling my sister and finding out hers wasn’t blooming either, I finally saw the first plumes.  What a relief!  Maybe they need a little cool weather to trigger the blooming cycle.

Gulf Muhly Grass 1 (redu)

I made sure to place mine where the sun would hit the pink plumes just right so that they seem to glow from within.

Gulf Muhly Grass 2 (redu)

While my plants are still young and the show is not that spectacular, I still am happy they finally started blooming and can’t wait until mine grow up and look as good as everybody else’s.

4 Comments

  1. LeSan said,

    November 2, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    They are really gorgeous. I can see why you would be anxious for them to bloom. Good job on the placement, they do glow. I think they will look stunning as they continue to mature. You have a spectacular show to look forward to each year now. They really do add a touch of gentle grace and color to your garden. 🙂

  2. fairegarden said,

    November 3, 2009 at 4:52 am

    Hi Jan, they are beautiful! Mine are way past prime, losing color each day, even past the purple bruise stage merging to the honeyed straw color. Still lovely as long as they are standing erect. Funny that yours are later. We too always worry that they won’t bloom, it seems a long time for the flower to finally emerge from the stem. Thanks for the link love too. 🙂
    Frances

  3. Janet said,

    November 3, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Sure do love the Pink Muhly –better late than never! (though I am sure yours isn’t late!)

  4. Sylvia (England) said,

    November 3, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Jan, this is on my wish list, I think it is lovely. I am so glad yours have started to flower now we will be able to enjoy the pictures of these plumes twice as long. First Frances’ then your!

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)


Leave a Reply

