My Autumn Favorite

“My Autumn Favorite”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

The last two months have been very hectic for me.  Work has been tough, and it seems as if I am drowning in paperwork.  I go to work with a list of things to do and leave with only a few done and even more added.  Because of all the stress and lack of time recently, I am even more grateful than usual for my garden.  While I haven’t been able to get out and work in it, the garden has been a great place to relax.

One of the flowers I find myself contemplating when I do get out in the garden is the Hibiscus mutabilis or Confederate Rose.  I have posted about this beautiful flower before, but they are now at the tail end of the peak bloom time, and before they play out, I want to you to see them one more time.

Conf Rose 3 (redu)

 

Conf Rose 2 (redu)

 

Conf Rose 1 (redu)

 

While I enjoy all of my garden, lately these flowers never fail to put me in a calm, happy mood.  I have always been fond of these particular flowers because they bloom in the fall just when many other summer plants have stopped blooming and just before the winter annuals really start flowering.  Because these large, fluffy, pink beauties have helped me destress every afternoon, they are now my autumn favorite.

9 Comments

  1. Sweet Bay said,

    November 3, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Those flowers are beautiful — such a wonderful pink.

    • Jan said,

      November 4, 2009 at 5:21 am

      Yes, these are a lovely pink which somehow still blends in with the other fall bloomers.

  2. Phillip said,

    November 3, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    I’ve always thought that this wasn’t hardy here in our area but I’m seeing more and more of them. I want to try and grow one. I love them too.

    • Jan said,

      November 4, 2009 at 5:20 am

      Phillip, when mine was young, it would die down to the ground in winter, but after it was about three years in the ground, that stopped happening. Now mine is a tree about twelve feet tall.

  3. Zindagi said,

    November 4, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Lovely flowers,

    Mine is 2 year old plant , with the drop in the weather the color changing routine is changed it blooms 2 days now and the size of flower has reduced too.

    I hope this is the way it behaves in colder climates.:)

  4. Janet said,

    November 4, 2009 at 7:09 am

    I can see how it would be a favorite.

  5. LeSan said,

    November 4, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling a bit overrun at work. I am happy to know that you have your wonderful garden and this beautiful flower to help ease that stress. I think this flower is simply devine and you should milk it for all its worth. I love seeing these blossoms.

  6. Mary Beth said,

    November 4, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    I’ve been on the same busy path at work – not much time for working in the garden – but whenever I can wander around, I feel the stress just falling away. Love your pink blooms!

  7. Lana said,

    November 5, 2009 at 8:51 am

    They’re so delicate-looking. I wish they’d grow in my yard, but alas. I just make sure to enjoy them when I see them.


Leave a Reply

