First Sasanqua

“First Sasanqua”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Yuletide (redu)

 

The first of the camellia sasanquas has started blooming.  This is Yuletide, a sasanqua I have wanted for years and finally was able to buy one last fall.  I have it planted in a large container that I can place next to our front door which is painted red.  Last year there was flowers until Christmas.  I hope the same happens this year.

6 Comments

  1. Jean said,

    November 4, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Yuletide is lovely.

    I love sasanquas. My sasanqua is a nameless white, more than 40 years old, actually a tree that leaves a carpet of petals underneath like snow.

    I look forward to the regular C. japonicas after Christmas, my real favs.

  2. Gail said,

    November 4, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    It’s lovely Jan! Flowers until Christmas! Then it is aptly named! I noticed there are big buds on my C japonica…but, ‘White By The Gate’ shouldn’t bloom for awhile yet! gail

  3. Randy said,

    November 4, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    This one is a true beauty. We [lanted 4 new camelias this spring will have our first bloom in a few days!

  4. Janet said,

    November 5, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Camellias are such great shrubs. Love their glossy leaves year round, but some of the blooms are out of this world! Yuletide is a great one.

  5. Lana said,

    November 5, 2009 at 8:48 am

    They’re so pretty!

  6. November 6, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Beautiful Camellia! Just starting! Lucky you. Lovely photo! Carol


Leave a Reply

