A Second Chance

“A Second Chance”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Last October when I attended the N. O. Garden show, I was finally able to purchase a plant I had been wanting for years.  It was a white Confederate Rose (Hibiscus mutabilis).  I wanted it to put in our “white” garden.  I also wanted one to complement the pink Confederate Rose in our back garden.  I was so happy I finally had one.  Since it was October, I didn’t feel it was a good idea to plant it in the ground.  While they are hardy in my zone 8 garden, a severe freeze will cut a young one down to the roots, and I didn’t want to risk it, so I kept it in its container and protected it all through the winter.

This summer, however, was extremely hot and dry, and by August, my pretty plant was toast.  First, it got white flies, but I think by that time it was declining fast, then, it lost its leaves, but ever the optimist, I kept watering it.  Finally, I had to admit it was a goner.

You rarely see these hibiscus plants in garden centers; they are pretty much a pass-along plant.  Well, this weekend when I went out to several nurseries for a few fall annuals to plant, I was so happy to see several at a small one-person operation.   I bought one and immediately planted it in the garden.  I am hoping it will be well established before we have our real cold weather which is usually in late December/early January.  Since it is still rather small, I could always cover it up with maybe an tomato cage wrapped in plastic and blankets.

While my pink Confederate Rose starts out light pink and gradually turns a darker pink as the day progresses, this one starts out white and slowly turns a dark pink. 

Wh Conf Rose 1 (redu)

 

Wh Conf Rose 2 (redu)

 

Wh Conf Rose 3 (redu)

 

Once this plant gets a little height on it, I think it will be a great addition to the garden, and the fact that you will be able to see the white one with the pink one behind it in the distance should be an added plus.  I am just glad I got a second chance to have this wonderful flowering plant.

8 Comments

  1. Lana said,

    November 8, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    Good luck with it. They’re such beautiful flowers!

  2. Sweet Bay said,

    November 8, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I’m glad you were able to find another one, it’s beautiful!

  3. Janet said,

    November 8, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Wonderful! I love how it changes colors as the day progresses.

  4. donna said,

    November 9, 2009 at 6:55 am

    A couple days ago I read a post on another blog about the Confederate Rose. The blogger had planted what looked to be bare sticks that her mother-in-law gave her and now she has beautiful blooms. I’m sorry you had to give up on your first white CR. Wishing you success with your new find.

  5. Phillip said,

    November 9, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    It is beautiful. This one will make it for sure!

  6. Yan said,

    November 9, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    What gorgeous flowers. I will keep my fingers crossed for your white plat.

  7. Gail said,

    November 10, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    It’s really very lovely Jan! With the care you’re going to give it…we will be seeing its blooms for sure next year! gail

  8. Janie said,

    November 10, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    I grow the Confederate Rose here on the Texas coast. Feel free to email me, should you find yourself without one in the future. The cuttings root very easily, and I would happily send cuttings to you. I am always having to cut mine back, and I hate to waste the cuttings, so I am always looking for someone who wants them.


Leave a Reply

