Unknown Beauty

“Unknown Beauty”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

There always is a bit of excitement when a new flower shows up, and it doesn’t even have to be a new purchase plant either.  Those that bloom only once and don’t appear again for a year also cause a bit of a stir when they start flowering.  Now is the time of year when the sasanqua camellias start blooming, and I have already shared my favorite, Yuletide, in a post just a few days ago.

Well, when I pulled into the driveway late this afternoon, I noticed a single white flower on another sasanqua which means that it too is starting its annual show.

 

Unknown Sasanqua (redu)

Unfortunately, I do not know the name of this particular sasanqua.  I bought it when it was not in bloom, and even though it had a tag and the container was labeled “Yuletide”, it turned out to be something else.  At first, I was very disappointed, but after only a few of these white flowers with pink edges showed up, I quickly made up my mind that I liked these one too.  I just wish I knew its name, because now I’d like a couple more since it is a fast grower and a prolific bloomer.  This particular sasanqua camellia certainly did turn out to be an unknown beauty.

7 Comments

  1. Phillip said,

    November 10, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    I think it is “Hana Jiman”

  2. Janet said,

    November 10, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    I was in the Learning Garden today with Racquel (Perennial Garden Lover) and one of our Camellias looks just like this! I believe it is Mrs. Charles Cobb. It is the pale pink edges that makes me think so. Ours has seed pods that look like rose hips through the season.

  3. Janet said,

    November 10, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Nope, never mind, I will see if we can make the ID.

  4. Sweet Bay said,

    November 10, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    I love that Camellia! The soft pink petal edging is beautiful. Great shot with the sunset in the background too.

  5. Randy said,

    November 11, 2009 at 6:24 am

    Jan,

    This one is beautiful! I just purchased Yuletide, luckily it has blooms that match the photo on the display card. I don’t have any white camellias (yet) but will consider it next year. I have 3 camellias here ready to plant making our total camellia collection 7 plants.

  6. Brenda O'Brock said,

    July 23, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    I have a mature sasanqua camellia bush and this year it is covered with what appears to be similar to rose hips. I know rose hips are plentiful in vitamin C and are edible. Can these sasanqua camellia hips be eaten? Got any good recipes, if so? I’ve noticed in years past these round hips dry on the bush popping open and seeds fall out. I have a bumper crop this year and if they have a good use, I’d like to know about it.
    Thanks,
    Brenda

    • Jan said,

      July 24, 2010 at 5:49 am

      Brenda, I believe what you are seeing are seed pods, and I don’t think they are edible. Rose hips are really more of a fruit (think apples) which is why they contain vitamins, etc. If you want more sasanqua bushes you might try and plant some seeds, but I don’t think you should consume any without further investigation.


Leave a Reply

