Goodbye, Little White Cat

“Goodbye, Little White Cat”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today was a very sad day for us.  We had to say goodbye to one of our sweet little cats.  Little White Cat was almost 15 years old and had been sick for a while.  We adopted her from the local animal shelter, and she was so sweet and gentle.   While she was always an inside cat, she did like it when I would hold her in my arms and walk her around the garden.  We will certainly miss her. 

 

Whenever I look at the white cat’s whiskers growing in the garden, I will think of her.  Goodbye, little white cat.

17 Comments

  1. Robin said,

    November 21, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    I’m sorry about your loss. I sometimes hold my cat in my arms and take her outside too.

  2. Lana said,

    November 21, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    My heart is with you. *hug*

  3. November 21, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    So sorry to hear you sad news {{{hugs}}}

  4. Janet said,

    November 21, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    So sad Jan. Losing a pet is losing a piece of yourself. You have the perfect plant to remember her by.

  5. Phillip said,

    November 21, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Jan, I’m sorry to hear about your cat. We just lost our cat this year – she was also solid white and lived to be 17. She was still in good health but was killed by another animal – we still don’t really know what happened. The garden is just not the same without her and I miss her every time I’m out there.

  6. Robert said,

    November 21, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Sorry for your loss. You will have beautiful memories of her in your garden.

  7. November 21, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    I feel so sorry for your cat. Positive thing is that she had a good life. Good 15 years is a life gift you gave her.

  8. Sweet Bay said,

    November 22, 2009 at 8:02 am

    It sounds like you have her a wonderful life! I used to take one of my family’s cats for walkabouts too — and he was an outdoor cat. lol

  9. Les said,

    November 22, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    I came by to thank you for visiting my blog, but rather I would like to tell how sorry I am that you lost your cat. I am not a feline person, but live with two people who are and know what it means to lose a pet.

  10. Patty Jean said,

    November 22, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Sorry about little white cat. I still miss Baby Cakes and it is 8 years now. They are little white angels in heaven.

  11. Jean said,

    November 23, 2009 at 8:23 am

    I am so sorry to hear about your sweet cat. I do the same thing that you do with our indoor cats – walk them about the garden in my arms. Just remember the good times you had with her and how lucky she was to have you in her life.

  12. November 23, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Many, many hugs to you. I know this isn’t easy. They are like family – actually they are family. You are in my thoughts.

  13. LeSan said,

    November 23, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I am so sorry to hear about your loss. It is so sad when we have to let a dear friend go. I have heard it said that when we own pets we are buying into a future heartache. I suppose that is decidedly true but a sweeter romance could not be found compared to the love shared with our little furry friends. I think she must have had a wonderful life with you full of love and comfort. I think of you holding her in your arms as you tour the garden. How wonderful that you have this lovely plant to celebrate her life.

  14. November 23, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Sorry for your loss… it is so hard to lose a friend of 15 years. Take Care. Carol

  15. Jan said,

    November 24, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Thanks, everybody for your kind words. It is so sad and hard to say goodbye to something that has been a part of your daily life for so long. I know the good memories will soon overtake the sadness. Thank you for leaving your comments. I really do appreciate them.

  16. Lisa said,

    November 25, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Sorry for your loss! Your kitty was very fortunate to have someone take such good care of her, I’m sure she’ll always remember you, too 🙂

  17. Rita said,

    December 1, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Sorry about your kiitty, thank you for giving her a good life. I love the cat whiskers plant, a must have for the late summer/fall garden.


Leave a Reply

