Pretty Begonia Leaves

“Pretty Begonia Leaves”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Friday was our first brush with a frost.  While the neighbors’ roofs had a thin covering of white, the temperature at our house only went down to 35 degrees.  Because we have so many trees, our property is its own little microclimate, and temperatures are often a few degrees warmer than houses nearby.  Of course, living in a milder climate means that not only do temperatures not get that cold, but temperatures do not stay low for very long.  Even during most freezes, it will dip to freezing or just below for only a very few hours.  This is why so many tender perennials can survive a winter here.

There are not many flowers out now, so having some foliage plants around makes for spots of color.  My rex begonias have spent the summer on the back patio, but I’ll soon have to move them to a sheltered location, maybe the front porch.  While most plants are still green (we really don’t have much fall color here) or not blooming, the rex begonias have become a colorful attraction.

 

 

 

 

It won’t be long before everything will seem to be red and green with Christmas just around the corner, but, for now, let’s take a moment to enjoy the soft colors of these pretty begonia leaves.

7 Comments

  1. Robin L. Weeks said,

    November 29, 2009 at 9:26 am

    I am over outside of Wiggins, MS and brought my begonias in. Was 35 at 5am. We lived south of Folsom the year that the big ice storm hit. That was something! I grew up in Oklahoma so am used to ice but not down here! I have been spending the past week moving things in… looks like we might get a little closer to a freeze in a week or so! Robin at The Flying Orchid

  2. Lana said,

    November 29, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Those are lovely. I put a watery acrylic painting outside the other night in hopes for a freeze, myself. Although we didn’t get it, the painting still came out cool.

  3. james said,

    November 29, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    I really admire your rex. Its quite difficult just to keep up with them and you have beautifully manage to keep them & bloom them. What a wonderful treat.
    Thanks for sharing this.

  4. donna said,

    November 30, 2009 at 6:08 am

    I really enjoyed seeing these photos of your rex begonias. Reminds me that I had some in a container back in the summer. They started out slowly and I almost dumped them. Then mysteriously they perked up and looked nice into October. Never did post a photo of them but guess I could still do that.

  5. Janet said,

    November 30, 2009 at 8:35 am

    We have only had a light brush with frost as well and are a little over two weeks past average killing frost. Hard to believe.
    I am such a fan of those Rex Begonias, what stunning foliage.

  6. Zindagi said,

    December 1, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Lovely begonia, I have an award for you to collect! Pls Visit my blog

  7. Dinushika said,

    January 15, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Beautiful pictures. Check out my collection at http://www.begoniamania.blogspot.com. I have collected over 50 varieties over the years. Any help on identifying them would be much appreciated.


Leave a Reply

