Thank Goodness For Toad Lilies

“Thank Goodness For Toad Lilies”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

The weather lately has been pretty bleak.  No real cold weather, but a damp, rainy chill.   Just enough to keep me out of the garden since I seem to have a sore throat and don’t want it to get worse.  Not much is going on in the garden except for the falling of the pine needles which is good because I use them for mulch and the mulch in some areas of the garden is getting a little thin.  The winter annuals have not started blooming well since they were just planted, and there are few other blooms right now, but one plant that is really putting out the flowers is the toad lily.

 

These are in the side garden in front of a large stand of bamboo.  I started with just a few plants from a neighbor about three years ago, and now have an area of about five feet by three feet covered with these small orchid-like flowers.  One of the nice things about toad lilies is that they are such easy to care for plants.  I really have to say that I do nothing but water them occasionally and every now and then throw a little compost on them. 

 

 

The ones pictured above (Tricyrtis formosana ‘Gilt Edge’) are evergreen for me while the first ones I bought (Tricyrtis hirta Miyazaki) have finished blooming and are starting to die back.  I am glad my neighbor shared these with me, I really appreciate these flowers when no other flowers seem to be around.
10 Comments

  1. December 3, 2009 at 6:41 am

    wow really looking beautiful these lilies

  2. Janet said,

    December 3, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Love your toad lily pictures…did you know it is snowing? Right on your blog page…what fun. Very cute feature.

  3. Nell Jean said,

    December 3, 2009 at 7:49 am

    I always mean to plant toad lilies and forget to buy bulbs timely.

    It was funny to see snowflakes drifting past the blossoms. You’re not anticipating snow, are you, just decorating for Christmas?

  4. nhnursery said,

    December 3, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Toad lilies are the perfect plant for someone who wants no fuss and they provide delicate stunning blooms.

  5. Jean said,

    December 3, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I really must try them soon. They’re more of a shade loving plant, right? I love those evergreen ones you have. I also like your snowflakes. 🙂 Think we’ll really get snow tomorrow??

  6. LeSan said,

    December 3, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I do not have any toad lilies and I can now clearly see the error of my ways. These are a lovely treat to see on those cold dreary wet days and we have plenty of those here. I am sorry to hear about your sore throat. Do take care and stay out of the garden. 🙂
    Oh, I really like the little blog snow you have going on here. Totally cute!

  7. December 3, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    I love these plants but never had them in my garden before. I’m putting them in next year.

  8. Randy said,

    December 4, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Jan,
    Our patch of toad lilies are one of the plants I brought here 12 years ago. Neglected therm for years, moved to a better location 3 years ago and they wowed us this year. All our blooms are now done though.

  9. commonweeder said,

    December 4, 2009 at 7:59 am

    I love toad lilies too, and your photos are great. Right now I’m having a GIVEAWAY, The Perennial Care Manual which will give advice about 125 beautiful annuals. Come and leave a comment before midnight, Dec. 5. I’m celebrating my Second Blogoversary, with the help of Storey Publishing and CowPots.

  10. Janie said,

    December 6, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    I do have toad lilies, and I love them! They are the toughest, sweetest little plant in the garden.


Leave a Reply

