A Year Later

“A Year Later”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

What a difference a year makes!  Last year at this time we were covered in snow, something unheard of in South Louisiana in early December.  (We very rarely have the white stuff show up here at all.)  It was a glorious day with picture book settings all over the area.  It was so strange to see our Deep South home looking like it was set in a winter wonderland.

 

 

Fast forward to this year – nothing but rain, rain, rain, and more rain.  We have only had two non-rainy days this month, and this month is now officially the wettest December we have ever had – 7.21 inches – and it is only December 12th.  Because this is usually only a chilly month, I am still able to work out in the garden.  But with the last four weekends being nothing but rainy, nothing is getting done.   I haven’t even been able to rake up the pine needles I use for winter mulch.  Thank goodness we do not have many hardwoods because wet leaves on a lawn can be a real problem.  No weeding is getting done (yes, weeds and grass still grow here during the winter), no trimming is getting done, and no planting is getting done (yes, we still are able to plant many things in the winter).

Another problem with all the clouds and rain is that my winter annuals aren’t going to be getting the sun they need.  If something doesn’t change soon, I am going to have the lankiest violas  and petunias around.  I am starting to worry about my caladiums, too.  Because of our mild climate, I can leave them in the ground over the winter.  They are in a well-drainded area, but with all this moisture and cold temperatures around, I am getting a little concerned.  Oh, well, if they don’t make it that will give me an opportunity to plant something different.

All this rain is reportedly because of El Nino which brings in low pressure systems from the west, one after the other.  Since El Nino usually protects us from a severe hurricane season, I’ll take the rain over another Katrina. 

It would be nice, though, to have little snow instead of so much rain.

3 Comments

  1. vrtlaricaana said,

    December 13, 2009 at 5:07 am

    Too bad your weather is so rainy. But at least you have snowflakes on your blog – I love them!
    We don’t have that much rain, but no snow either. It’s just cold, cold, cold…

  2. Lana said,

    December 13, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Ugh…After 20 years in the snow belt, I’ll respectfully disagree. I just read about Buffalonians being stranded in their cars overnight. That kind of stuff is the basis of my snow memories. Don’t even get me started on the historical “Bald Eagle” 5-flaker of ’01-’02. 7″ of rain in a month is far better than 7′ of snow in 5 days, believe me!
    Sorry about your plants, though.

  3. Janet said,

    December 13, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    We are well over our rainfall amounts for the year…by about 18- 19 inches. It is sooooo wet outside. I could do without another hurricane ever again.


Leave a Reply

