Year’s End

“Year’s End”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Only two more days until 2009 is just a memory.  No matter how great a year may have been, come the end of December, we all seem to look forward to a new year and the promises it brings.  For me, a new year brings thoughts of a new gardening year, which I can’t wait to get started.

I haven’t been able to get out in the garden even though I have been off work for a week.  It has been too wet and cold, though nothing like more northern gardeners are going through.  Rain is predicted for tomorrow, so I am hoping to get out early and do a little fertilizing of the winter annuals and Louisiana irises which are growing now.

While, out in the garden a few days ago, I noticed a pink hydrangea still had a bloom though it is looking old just like 2009.  We have had a few light freezes, but most of the tender garden plants are still hanging on.

 

 

 

 

Even in its decline, this flower still has appeal.  I guess the same could be said for 2009; it had its great moments, and I hope 2010 has the same.

12 Comments

  1. December 30, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Lovely and yes we northern gardeners are in the thick of cold cold temps! Enjoy your mild winter days. Happy Gardening New Year Jan! Carol

  2. katherine russell said,

    December 30, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Right there with you. The day after Christmas brought graden catalogs in the mail. My first list was over $800. I may have to cut that back just a bit. 🙂 I only have a patio container garden.

  3. December 30, 2009 at 8:46 am

    I’m in the process of fertilizing Louisiana irises also. I aim to do that in October and then again in late February, but am just finishing my October work now. If the rain would stop, I could get it done over the New Years holiday. Doesn’t look promising though. I still have some new beds to make and irises to move from pots to garden, but the soil will surely be too wet to work.

    Patrick

  4. Jean said,

    December 30, 2009 at 9:04 am

    El Nino years are not that fun in the winter for us southern gardeners, are they? Ah well, at least the trees will not be too stressed going into 2010’s summer. I hope you have a great and growing New Year Jan!

  5. bangchik said,

    December 30, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    welcome 2010… happy new year ~bangchik

  6. Norwood said,

    December 30, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Even though this is a flower past its prime, there is something appealing about it. I guess I have always been attracted to the decadent. Have a happy new year, Jan.

  7. donna said,

    December 30, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Jan, you’re right. Even though the bloom is old, it still has appeal and I like that you included the photo in your post.

    Fertilizing the winter annuals……sounds good to me.

    Happy New Year, my LA blogging friend.

  8. SuzEq said,

    December 30, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    I can’t wait for 2010. It has to be better than 2009. Hope you have a happy new year.

  9. Jake said,

    December 31, 2009 at 3:10 am

    I hope you have a wonderful start to your new year as well. Like you I am looking forward to the 2010 gardening season, can’t wait.

    Jake

  10. Autumn Belle said,

    December 31, 2009 at 3:19 am

    Happy New Year 2010. May it be even better than 2009.

  11. Janet said,

    December 31, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Happy New Year to you Jan. Looking forward to ‘seeing’ you in 2010.

  12. Lana said,

    January 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    The hydrangea’s absolutely stunning!


Leave a Reply

