Good Bye, Rusty

“Good Bye, Rusty”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

 

Today, we lost our sweet little cat, Rusty. He was my garden cat and would always follow me around whenever I was outside and keep me company. He was perfectly behaved in the garden, never walking on plants, etc. We have several bird feeders and always had a great number of birds around, but Rusty was so laid back that the birds had nothing to fear from him.

His death was so sudden and coming only about six weeks after we had to put our little white cat down, it just really has us so sad. I certainly loved that little guy and will miss him so much.

12 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    January 19, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    So sad, I am sorry Jan. I know you will miss him.

  2. Lana said,

    January 19, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    My sympathies, hon. <:( *hug*

  3. January 19, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    Big hugs and I’m so sorry. I know how you feel. So sad to have lost two that close together. Wish I could bring you some cookies.

  4. Edith Hope said,

    January 20, 2010 at 5:14 am

    Having so very recently lost my own Cat, I sympathise with you so much over the death of Rusty. He looks so perfect and I am so very sad for you.

    I found your site through Blotanical which I have just joined as a new blogger. I will most certainly visit you again.

  5. Nezzy said,

    January 20, 2010 at 7:43 am

    I am so sorry for the loss of your Rusty. The garden companion I had for years was killed by coyotes early last spring and we just got another cat about three months ago. They just become a part of your fam, don’t they?

    As we say here in the Ozark hills and hollers, ya’ll have a wonderfully blessed day!!!

  6. January 20, 2010 at 8:00 am

    I’m so sorry, Jan…wish I could bring some soup and warm bread and a warmer hug. It’s very painful to lose our feline friends. Take care of yourself…

  7. Kyna Adams said,

    January 20, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    I’m so sorry that you’ve lost some beloved cats. I had a cat for 15 years, and when my cat died I was crushed. My condolences 😦

    I also went through some of your past blog posts, and I do enjoy your blog very much 🙂 I’ll be back.

  8. January 20, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear that you’re dealing with this. They make such wonderful gardening companions.

  9. Melody said,

    January 20, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I am so sorry – I know you will miss him a lot.

  10. January 20, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Life is not fair. Both cats? I’d be devastated.
    –Kate

  11. January 20, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. It is heartbreaking, especially as I imagine it occurring with my orange kitty who spends time in the garden with me. 😦 And on top of losing the other… no wonder you are sad. My heart goes out to you and your family.

  12. Catherine said,

    January 21, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    So sorry to hear about your sweet cat. Our pets become part of the family and it’s so hard to lose one.


Leave a Reply

