Ready to Buy

“Ready to Buy”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

About this time of year, when everything in the garden is dormant, I start to need to buy living things. Plants! I want plants. I want to garden, and it is so frustrating that now is not the time to be planting very much.

But, by Sunday, I just had to have something. I stopped by Home Depot and decided if they didn’t have anything to buy yet, I would stop at the grocery and get some roses. As I walked in and almost immediately spied the bare root roses, I knew I would have to get some roses. There was a large display of the Knockout roses, and I was happy to see they had some of the Blushing variety which is often hard to find around here and is my favorite. I already have two Blushing Knockouts in one of the side gardens and will plant these new ones near those two.

 

 

I also picked up a few lily bulbs which I will be planting very soon.

Last week was pretty rough for me, so having a few new plants certainly lifted my spirits.

10 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    January 26, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    New plants always lift my spirits. Would love a visit to a garden center or garden show to get a plant fix.

    • Jan said,

      January 27, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Janet, being able to alleviate a “plant fix” in mid-January helps make up for the sweltering temperatures we get in the summer.

  2. January 26, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Glad to see that you’re in better spirits. It’s so hard to lose a special pet. I know as I recently went through it myself. And, I wholeheartedly agree with your approach – new blooms almost always boost my spirits. Take care, Kate

  3. SuzEq said,

    January 27, 2010 at 5:47 am

    I feel the same way, Jan. I just can’t wait to get outside and see things growing.

  4. Jake said,

    January 27, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    Bulbs come out around here after Valentine’s Day, but most can’t be planted out until mid to late-April to be safe. I am like you though, I really want to start buying and planting.

    I loved the regular Knock-Out, does the the ‘Blushing Bride’ variety bloom non-stop from March into December too?

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      January 27, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      Yes, Jake, Blushing does bloom non-stop; here, it blooms all year except if we get a long freeze period. The variety is called just “Blushing”. The color is a soft shell pink esp. as the temperatures warm up. It is not as dark a pink as the pink Knockouts. It is now my favorite of the Knockouts.
      With our mild temps, I will be planting the lily bulbs this weekend. My Easter lilies and Triumphtor lilies are about six to eight inches tall now. The recent cold weather did not affect them at all.

      • Jake said,

        January 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm

        That is good news… I figured your Lilies could take the cold since I know Lilies up here survive that cold if we get a late-freeze. Thanks for the information on the Rose, I will have to look into it. It is different and looks unique and a long bloomer.

        Jake

      • Jan said,

        January 28, 2010 at 6:50 pm

        Jake, I thought the lilies would survive, but since I had only had them two years and they never had to go through so much cold with foliage already showing, I wasn’t too sure they wouldn’t be damaged. Thanks goodness they made it through and the buds weren’t damaged.

  5. Lana said,

    January 27, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    I’m already looking forward to April, when a rainbow of birds migrates through my yard. (Fortunately I have a LOT of upcoming art events between now & then to keep me good & distracted. 😉

    • Jan said,

      January 28, 2010 at 5:47 pm

      Lana, I am looking forward to March. That is when I think spring is definitely here and gardening is in full swing.


Leave a Reply

