Little Color

“Little Color”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

We have been very fortunate that we have not had the terrible storm come through here that has inundated other parts of the southeast with snow, sleet, and ice. We have only had colder temps – just flirting with the freezing mark last night, but it should be warming up slowly this week.

I really feel for others who have had such cold weather, especially those who have lost their electricity due to the ice such as Oklahoma. The news reported that some people would be without electricity for up to five days. That must be miserable with the cold. When we lose electricity because of hurricanes, it can be very hot and uncomfortable, but that is nothing compared to being cold.

We had some rain Friday which wet everything so there was no going out in the garden this weekend, but I did manage to find one plant with some color. The mahona has its flowers starting to bloom.

 

 

This is about the only color in the garden. Usually, we still have many things blooming or the variegated foliage is dominant, but not this year and not after this winter.

Just a reminder to backup your photos. Last night, when I started this post, I went to download my photos off the external drive, and they were gone. Talk about panic. Luckily, it was only January’s photos that hadn’t been saved to a disc. Dear hubby worked some magic today and got them back. So, here is a friendly warning to back up your files.

8 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    February 1, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    Any colour in the garden is most welcome this time of year…how lucky you are! Wise words as to backing up your photos — I do it on a regular basis at the urging of my (computer tech) hubby. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      February 2, 2010 at 5:42 am

      Wish we had more color, Nancy. It has been a very deary time since the hard freezes of December.

  2. Jake said,

    February 2, 2010 at 1:20 am

    I have been interested in Mahona, but have heard it is invasive. How has it been for you?

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      February 2, 2010 at 5:43 am

      Jake, mahona is not invasive at all. In fact, I find it a little on the slow growing side. I wish I would get a few more plants springing up as it can be a little pricey at the garden centers.

  3. Robert said,

    February 2, 2010 at 5:40 am

    Everything is colorful around here, if you like brown. Can’t wait for some bright flowers. You are right this has been a tough winter.
    Thanks for the reminder about backing up. I need to back up a lot of stuff on my computer. I guess I have been rather lazy about doing that. Glad you were able to recover your pics.

    • Jan said,

      February 2, 2010 at 5:22 pm

      I feel the same way, Robert. I want some warm, sunny, balmy days and colorful flowers. Spring can’t come fast enough.

  4. Janet said,

    February 2, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Morning Jan, Mahonia sure puts on a nice show in the winter.
    I feel for those who lost power, one Christmas we lost power for 4 days and we were so miserable. Put gas logs in right after that!
    I am curious about you saying the external drive had your photos and they disappeared? I was thinking of getting an external devoted to my photos. Maybe that isn’t the way to go???

    • Jan said,

      February 2, 2010 at 5:18 pm

      Janet, I think it is a good idea to get an external drive. I save things to the external drive when I am using the laptop but I still back up those files to a disc. I don’t know what happened to make my pictures disappear. I am thankful that hubby got them back. I like an external drive because you can just pick it up and you have all your files that you can use on another computer.


Leave a Reply

