Fleur de Lis

“Fleur de Lis”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Since this is a garden blog, I feel that it should be about gardening, flowers, shrubs, etc. After last night’s Super Bowl, I just have to have something about the New Orleans Saints and how they have lifted the entire region’s spirits with their win. Everyone in Louisiana and the Gulf Coast is just ecstatic. This does help put Katrina behind us. Thank you Saints and the NFL (which really supported New Orleans after the hurricane).

Now to have a tie in to gardening – the fleur de lis, which is the symbol of New Orleans and the Saints, means “lily flower” and seems to be a stylized version of an iris. It was predominately displayed on the royal French flag. It is thought to be the yellow flag iris according to Wikipedia. After last night, I think I just might have to plant some in the garden.

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Meredith said,

    February 8, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    I was visiting a garden once when the yellow flag iris were in bloom, and the designers had constructed a little bridge/path of stepping stones to cross a low stream, with those irises growing *in* the shallow water on either side. They are about five feet tall, so almost exactly at eye level for me, and it was totally magical to be walking there among them with the sound of gently moving water all around. I highly recommend these flowers, especially as they now will have an emotional significance for you, as well. I suspect you will find they like their feet wet. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      February 9, 2010 at 8:11 pm

      Meredith, I had some yellow flag irises a few years ago, but when we had to have a dead tree removed, the workman trampled them so badly they were history. I really have to get some more, now.

  2. Janet said,

    February 8, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Great game and it would be fitting to plant something to proclaim New Orleans is a winner!

    • Jan said,

      February 9, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      Janet, it was a great game, and I am so thrilled the Saints won. I’ll definitely will have to plant some to commemorate this victory.

  3. February 9, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Though I am not interested in football … which is a bit too violent for me… I am happy for New Orleans!!! This is the first I have heard of the win. I too love yellow flag iris… even if some may think them rampant. They are that lovely yellow I so love to see in any garden. Mine are not planted in a wet area… they do not spread much and come back year after year. I appreciate the foliage too. ;>)

    • Jan said,

      February 9, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      Carol, I am not too fond of football, either, but this was a little different. I don’t think there is an iris I don’t like. Most of mine are Louisiana irises, but I think having the yellow flag would be a good fit for my garden.

  4. Patty said,

    February 9, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    Yellow flag iris grows here in the natural. I have some for my pond, although they grow in the ground too.

    • Jan said,

      February 9, 2010 at 8:16 pm

      Patty, I would love to have a pond and grow irises in it, but I have to settle for growing them in the garden. Can’t wait for them to start blooming as we need some color in the garden.


Leave a Reply

