A Teasing Mother Nature

“A Teasing Mother Nature”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

How do you picture Mother Nature? Right now, I am picturing her as a teaser. The last few days have been much more what we are used to for mid-February. Sunny skies, highs in the mid 60’s. It seems like spring is here. I even saw a lizard in the garden yesterday, sunning himself on the hose reel.

We are seeing more and more signs that spring is coming soon. The peach tree’s buds are showing color.

 

 

The neighbor’s Japanese magnolia’s buds are also showing color.

 

 

The sweet olive bushes (Osmanthus fragrans) have started blooming – a sure sign winter is coming to a close. I didn’t notice the small flowers at first, the fragrance caught my attention before the flowers did.

 


So, why is Mother Nature a tease? While the temperatures reached 71 degrees today, colder weather will be here shortly bringing a stop to all these “spring-time signs”. How disappointing we will have to wait a bit longer for spring to finally arrive.

12 Comments

  1. Norwood said,

    February 22, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I know I can’t wait for spring. I need to be on the lookout for some flower buds around my garden in the next few weeks.

    • Jan said,

      February 24, 2010 at 5:35 am

      These teasing signs with cold weather on its way again, just makes it worse, doesn’t it?

  2. Janet said,

    February 23, 2010 at 8:39 am

    She is sure a tease here, weekend temps in the upper 60’s and now the word is snow for Thursday. Poor plants are really mixed up.

    • Jan said,

      February 24, 2010 at 5:34 am

      Janet, more cold weather is on its way for us too.

  3. Jess said,

    February 23, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Sigh. I don’t think it would be so bad if we didn’t know that usually it is normal to be in the 60s. Not the 40s. grrr.

    • Jan said,

      February 24, 2010 at 5:33 am

      I have to agree, Jess. I want our normal weather back. Looks like we will be in the upper 20’s tonight.

  4. Lana said,

    February 24, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I’ve been noticing buds here & there, myself. Makes me very happy, but what’s with the cold again lately???

    • Jan said,

      February 25, 2010 at 4:57 am

      Lana, I can’t believe we are still getting light freezes. Of course, our last freeze date is March 1st, but you never know with this winter.

  5. February 24, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    That’s kind of you to call her a tease. With snow each day for the last 7 days I’m more inclined to call her a torturer. 😦

    • Jan said,

      February 25, 2010 at 4:58 am

      Kate, I don’t know how you northern gardeners are surviving. So much snow for such a long time. I know you can’t wait for springtime. I guess she really is a torturer for you.

  6. February 24, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    gorgeous pics!

    • Jan said,

      February 25, 2010 at 4:58 am

      Thanks. I can’t wait to photograph the open flowers.


Leave a Reply

