Good Signs

“Good Signs”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Finally, after all this worrying about what would survive our recent unusual freezing weather, there are some good signs that many plants seem to have survived and are returning. Since our last big freeze, which was about ten years ago, I have planted many plants that have survived our occasional hard freezes without any trouble. Here, in south Louisiana, many flowering plants that are annuals in more northern climates can often survive our usual mild winters. It is not at all unusual for pentas, impatiens, blue daze, etc to survive our normal winters. In fact, I have not bought any impatiens in over five years because some always survive the winter. Not this year, though. Also, I have put in the garden many plants that I am not quite sure if they will survive the extra cold winter we have had this year. I have been concerned about some favorites that seemed to have died, not so much because I can’t plant something else, but so often a particular color flower or variety is no longer readily available.

Well, today I saw some very encouraging signs of life out in the garden. First, my pineapple sage, which I have had for over ten years, is coming back. My sister gave me cuttings from her garden all those years ago, and I would have been so disappointed if it died. But, I don’t have to worry, little plants are coming up all over where it was planted, and a few stems (which looked dead a week ago) are showing little leaves.

 

 

We had two moderate freezes this past week, but that isn’t stopping plants from waking up for springtime. The holly ferns are coming alive and sending up fiddleheads.

 

 

The flowering quince is starting to bud and bloom, too.

 

 

 

I have seen some other signs that the garden may not have been affected too much by the recent cold weather. Irises are showing signs of growth, hydrangeas are showing leaves, and daylilies are springing up with vigor. They say that cold weather can be good for a garden. Overgrown tropicals are knocked back, bugs are less after very cold spells, and often flowering shrubs bloom more. While still being a tad cautious, I just may have to agree that this extra cold winter might have been good for the garden. Time will tell

6 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    February 27, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    I love seeing signs of spring growth. It is so encouraging to see little leaves or buds ready to burst.

    • Jan said,

      February 28, 2010 at 6:21 am

      Janet, I think the signs of spring growth this year are more welcomed than ever before after the winter most of us have had.

  2. donna said,

    February 28, 2010 at 6:13 am

    It pays to be patient in the garden, doesn’t it? You’ll most likely have more plants returning that you at first thought. When it comes to brutally cold weather, I console myself with the fact that it’s killing bugs/insects.

    donna

    • Jan said,

      February 28, 2010 at 6:23 am

      Donna, I sure hope the eggs of the grasshoppers that have been plaguing my garden the last two years are killed.

  3. Lana said,

    February 28, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    It’s sooo nice out today, too! I just wish it wasn’t still so wet. Would love to get out more today.

    • Jan said,

      February 28, 2010 at 2:49 pm

      I would too, Lana, but I have things I need to do for work. I’d much rather be outside puttering around the garden.


Leave a Reply

