Promising Signs

“Promising Signs”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Approximately three weeks ago, I undertook an experiment. As I was cutting back my roses, I decided to try and root some of the clippings. My mother, who can root just about anything, has rooted roses several times, but I have only been successful once, and that time it was strictly by accident.

I selected several clippings and trimmed them back to about four to five inches, removed most of the leaves, dipped the cuttings in rooting hormone, and planted them in a large container. I have kept them damp, and if a freeze was predicted, I brought the container indoors, but mostly, they have stayed outside in a shady area. It wasn’t long before I started seeing tiny signs of leaves. Today, these cuttings, while they have lost their mature leaves, have started growing a lot of new ones.

 

 

I haven’t lightly tugged on the cuttings to see how well they are rooting. I figure, it is too early, and it is better to leave well enough alone. But, I do think that all this new growth is a promising sign that I just may be on the way to having a few more roses bushes for the garden – all for free.

10 Comments

  1. Nell Jean said,

    March 6, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    As I set out to prune the roses, I had great plans for rooting cuttings. After the first two ‘Gene Boerner’ were finished, I decided that more roses to prune were not what I really needed, lol.

    Seriously, I hope your cuttings take and make a glorious show for you.

  2. Jan said,

    March 6, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Nell Jean, since I do not have too many roses, a few more won’t be much trouble. Anyway, sometimes I try things just to see if I can do it. If they take, it will certainly make me feel like a real gardener.

  3. March 6, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    It is a great feeling when propagation works! I have never tried roses. Yours look very healthy. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      March 7, 2010 at 6:34 am

      Thanks, Amy. I did gently tug on one cutting and there was resistance, so I am hopeful at least some are taking.

  4. Robin said,

    March 6, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    I just posted on my blog that the horses are NOT shedding their winter coats just yet. It has been a steady clue for many years!

    • Jan said,

      March 7, 2010 at 6:36 am

      There seems to be many signs here, too, that spring is delayed. The male goldfinches are still here, and they are usually gone by now. They must know it is too cold up north to return just yet.

  5. gardeningasylum said,

    March 7, 2010 at 6:27 am

    Your cuttings look like they’re starting out well – my experience is that some varieties are easier to propagate than others, so keep trying if you don’t have initial success!

    • Jan said,

      March 7, 2010 at 6:38 am

      I think you may be right about how some roses are easier to propagate. The few I have tried before were probably hybrid teas, and these are just shrub roses. Time will tell if they will take. Keeping my fingers crossed.

  6. Lana said,

    March 7, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Awesome. 🙂


Leave a Reply

