Spring Yellow

“Spring Yellow”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

A visit from my sister who lives in Virginia and a big birthday weekend have not given me much time to garden or blog. I will have a lot of catching up to do in the next few days. It seems like every day there is something new showing up or blooming in the garden. This is how gardening is supposed to be in the Deep South. Extended cold periods and just about everything brown is really unknown to us.

The Carolina jasmine has started blooming.

 

 

It is not only the bright yellow flowers that I like about this vine or the fact that it blooms so early. What I really like about this plant is how all of a sudden it just bursts into bloom. It seems like one day there is only leaves and the next day – Bam – flowers all over.

 

 

The only down side to this lovely spring-flowering vine is how short the bloom season is. I wished it would have those spring yellow flowers for a few months rather than weeks.

 

 

10 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    March 16, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Mmmmmmmmmmm, NOTHING smells more delicious! I wish they were hear year round. :-)– Randy

    • Jan said,

      March 18, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      I couldn’t agree more, Randy.

  2. Janet said,

    March 16, 2010 at 8:57 am

    I agree but this time of year (or a little later for us) Carolina Jasmine is welcome color.

    • Jan said,

      March 18, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      Janet, you just can’t beat that pop of color the Carolina Jasmine gives.

  3. Janet said,

    March 16, 2010 at 8:59 am

    oh and Happy Birthday to…? you?

    • Jan said,

      March 18, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      Yes, Janet, it was my birthday, and a big milestone one at that.

  4. garden mary said,

    March 16, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Whenever I see these flowers, I know spring has arrived. There is just something about bright yellow that is so cheery after dreary winter. I can hardly wait until they start blooming around here.

    • Jan said,

      March 18, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      I love the bright yellow flowers, too.

  5. donna said,

    March 18, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Maybe if the Carolina jasmine had a longer blooming period, you’d take them for granted. They’re something special. Happy Birthday to you.

    donna

    • Jan said,

      March 18, 2010 at 3:46 pm

      Thanks, Donna. I don’t feel any older. I guess you are right about the Carolina Jasmine. I just wished it would stay around a little longer.


Leave a Reply

