Hello, Goodbye

“Hello, Goodbye”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

When springtime finally comes around, it certainly can move fast. Before you are prepared for it, it is already time to say goodbye to some spring-flowering plants. Just as plants can surprise you with their flowers showing up in what seems a sudden manner, they can also leave just as fast. Case in point – forsythia. It seems like it was only yesterday that the flowers started appearing, and now the last few blossoms are barely holding on among all the new green leaves.

 

 

Now that the yellow of the forsythia is fading, there is another plant ready to take over the job of displaying beautiful color. The loropetalum is now in full bloom.

 

 

I have several of these bushes on the north side of our property. A gardening friend tried to get me to plant some many years ago, but I resisted. Foolish me. When I finally put three bushes in and saw how well they performed, I went out and bought more. I wish I would have listened to my friend when she first told me about loropetalum, because, by now, I would have a nice screen of flowers to separate me from the neighbors. I like that the flowers are so different. Close up or far away these are great flowering shrubs.

 

 

When it is time to say adieu to one spring-flowering plant, it certainly is nice to be able to welcome a new bloomer.

6 Comments

  1. Melody said,

    March 18, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    My lorapetalums are about 8 feet tall, but I am thinking about cutting them back some so they will thicken up. The growth is getting kind of thin in places. I just can’t do it while they are blooming though:)

    • Jan said,

      March 18, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      Melody, I am trying to keep the most recent ones I planted to about four feet. My three original lorapetalums are about six feet tall, and I am thinking about limbing them up so that they look like small trees. I have seen this done before and like the effect. Of course, like you, I will wait until they stop blooming. Can’t imagine cutting off those lovely flowers.

  2. Nell Jean said,

    March 18, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    It’s easier to let the Loropetalums who want to be trees, be trees. There are some naturally occuring shorter ones. All of mine were seedlings of the same age. Some are 12 foot trees; some are still manageable size with judicious pruning. I like that they start to bloom in winter, reach a peak late March, bloom off and on all summer and fall and never give up.

    • Jan said,

      March 20, 2010 at 5:56 am

      Nell Jean, I gave up fighting Mother Nature a long time ago. If a plant wants to be tall, I adjust, not the plant. This is why I am considering limbing up the first ones I planted that are tall. A neighbor planted loropetalums in front of their house, and I tried to very tactfully tell them how tall they would get. They spend a tremendous amount of time keeping them trimmed back and, of course, there are few to no blooms because of this.

  3. Patsi said,

    March 19, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Wow love the pink of the loropetalum !!
    It all might be short lived but isn’t it grand !

    • Jan said,

      March 20, 2010 at 5:57 am

      They are a grand color, Patsi. Mine blend in well with azaleas planted nearby, so when both are in bloom, it makes a lovely sight.


Leave a Reply

