New Arrival

“New Arrival”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

It always amazes me when new plants just “show up” in the garden. I am referring to the ones I have never planted or owned and not the ones that just may move from one area to another. Over the years, I have had many volunteers arrive and have always wondered where they came from. One year, a cigar plant (Cuphea ignea) showed up, and I never have planted any. A daylily appeared about four years after I had removed some from the garden bed, so I guess it came from the original plants, but, still it was a surprise to see it just seem to appear. I have had banana trees and old-fashioned cannas show up, too, none of which I had planted.

One of the more recent arrivals have been the little white violets.

 

 

We have had the occasional light purple wild violet for years here and there in the lawn. I know where these white ones came from – our neighbor across the street has them in her lawn. But they only showed up there about three years ago. Where did they come from? The first time I saw white violets was many years ago, and it was miles away from here. I guess they are gradually moving around.

I know many people do not like the wild violets in their lawns, but with our thick St. Augustine grass, we haven’t had any problems with them taking over in the thirty years we have lived here. The white ones are a welcome change from the “regular” color, and it is nice to see them even if many consider them a weed.

9 Comments

  1. March 20, 2010 at 12:32 am

    The prettiest lawn I know of is filled with white and purple violets! It is stunning every Spring. Lovely gift for you!

    • Jan said,

      March 20, 2010 at 5:45 am

      Carol, a small part of my neighbor’s lawn almost looks covered with snow when these start blooming. It is very pretty.

  2. Lona said,

    March 20, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    Hi Jan. I have never saw white violets before, didn’t even know they existed. I would welcome them too. The birds and winds must be bringing them to you. What a wonderful surprise.

    • Jan said,

      March 21, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      I was surprised to see white violets when I first saw them. They are quite lovely. They also make great little bouquets for the house.

  3. Jess said,

    March 20, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    hmmmm. In that case I am going to squint my eyes and wish for something other than chickweed to show up. I think its going to work this time.

    • March 21, 2010 at 8:37 am

      How fun when things just ‘show up’!…provided, of course, that they aren’t unwelcome invasives;-) Isn’t it cool how animals/birds are able to carry seed through their ‘systems’ which then brings new life? Perhaps it was also blowin’ in the wind! Another possibility is from the pot of a plant you purchased–I’ve had several ‘surprise’ plants grow in my garden that way. Your white violets are very dainty and pretty!

      • Jan said,

        March 21, 2010 at 5:58 pm

        Jan, I have to think that most of the “show ups” are the results of birds. I do know that after Hurricane Katrina everybody said they had weeds that they never had before, so wind is also a possibility.

    • Jan said,

      March 21, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      Jess, not everything that shows up is welcomed. I have a few things I would need to squint my eyes for, too.

  4. March 28, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Jan, I’ve read that violets add an ant attractant during seed development, just so the ants will carry the seeds back to the nest- bet you not only have some of your neighbor’s violets, but some of her ants, too ;-]

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose


Leave a Reply

