Spring Snowflakes

“Spring Snowflakes”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Spring arrived yesterday at 1:32 pm (EST), and today, the first full day of spring was so unspringlike. The last week has consisted of warm, sunny, mild days, but now that spring is officially here, it is cold and windy. Today seemed like a late November day. Our low was an unseasonably 37 degrees, and the highs never got out of the mid 40’s. Combine that with the wind, and today felt as if the temperature was in the high 30’s. What a first day of spring!

Even though it was an unusually cold day, there still is proof that spring has not retreated – the summer snowflakes are blooming.

 

 

These little flowers are among my favorites. I love the small white flowers with the green dot at the end of the petals. We often think of daffodils as being the spring bulb, but for the Gulf Coast, where many bulbs will not repeat bloom because of our mild winters, these are great, dependable bloomers. A sure sign of spring around here.

5 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    March 21, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    This flower, when it came up in abundance behind my parking area this February had me, as former northerner, so confuse! I kept calling them half lily of the valley half snowdrop!

    • Jan said,

      March 22, 2010 at 4:31 am

      Jess, when I first saw these lovely flowers in an abandoned garden, I thought they were snowdrops. When I found out snowdrops do not grow in the Deep South, I had to do a little research to find out what they were. I guess these old-fashioned bulbs aren’t grown much any more which is why they surprise us when we first see them.

  2. Sheila said,

    March 22, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Aren’t they just the sweetest things?

  3. cindydyer said,

    April 2, 2010 at 10:48 am

    Hi Jan,

    These were my first blooms of the season, too—always fun to photograph, too.

    • Jan said,

      April 3, 2010 at 9:19 am

      I just love these flowers, Cindy. It seems they are the favorites of many people.


Leave a Reply

