A Spring Pretty

“A Spring Pretty”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The woodland phlox is starting to bloom.

 

 

This variety of woodland phlox (phlox divaricata) is also called Louisiana Blue Phlox and is one my mother grew in her garden when I was a teenager. There are other varieties, such as London Blue Grove, but the one pictured above is my favorite.

I bought a few plants, and my sister gave me some also, and as they are slowly spreading, I hope to one day have a whole border of these pretty spring flowers.

6 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    April 2, 2010 at 7:05 am

    It is a beauty. Ours bloom in early May, though this year it could be a little later, Most everything has been about 10 days behind last year.

    • Jan said,

      April 2, 2010 at 8:09 am

      Ours, too, is blooming later than normal. Glad they showed up.

  2. nancybond said,

    April 2, 2010 at 8:49 am

    They are beautiful, and that they bloom so early makes them all the more attractive. 🙂

    • Jan said,

      April 3, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Yes, Nancy, they are quite lovely.

  3. April 3, 2010 at 6:45 am

    Woodland phlox is so lovely. They don’t bloom so early here, but I wait for them and their fragrance every May, and am glad of their appearance. Happy spring, Jan!

    • Jan said,

      April 3, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Same to you, Jodi. I, too, look forward to these sweet blooms every spring. I love when they bloom at the same time as the daffodils.


Leave a Reply

