Many Colors

“Many Colors”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

It seems to be happening just as I predicted. All of a sudden, everything seems to be blooming at once. This winter’s holding on for weeks beyond normal has caused so many flowers to open quickly. Ones that should have bloomed weeks ago are now blooming with others that normally bloom now. What an Easter!

One surprise was the Mutabilis rose. As I was watering the area around this plant, all of a sudden, I noticed it was in bloom. Just a few days ago – nothing. Now, delicate flowers all over the bush. This China rose is also called the Butterfly Rose. An old-fashioned, single rose, this is known for its changing flower colors as the flower ages.

The buds start out a dark color.

 

 

The flower opens to a peachy-yellow

 

 

As the flower ages, it turns to a light pink.

 

Finally, a dark pink appears.

 

 

Every year when this rose starts blooming, I am amazed at how pretty all the different colors showing at the same time is. This year, I am amazed how all the flowers seemed to pop out all at once.

11 Comments

  1. Jeannie said,

    April 3, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Oh, I know what you mean. I was so excited when I saw a bud on my Rose and it seems like I closed my eyes and everything is in bud!! If only those pesky bugs didn’t like them so much!

    • Jan said,

      April 4, 2010 at 10:29 am

      So far, Jeannie, we haven’t seen many bugs around. Though, I did see one June bug last night. In the past, they have done a number on this rose, so this year, I am watching closely.

  2. garden mary said,

    April 3, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Pretty, pretty, pretty.

  3. Phillip said,

    April 3, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    One of my favorites, I’m looking forward to the blooms.

    • Jan said,

      April 4, 2010 at 10:30 am

      This is one of my favorites, too, Phillip. Can’t wait for more roses to bloom.

  4. April 4, 2010 at 3:06 am

    Just popped by to wish you a Happy Easter,

    RO xxx

    • Jan said,

      April 4, 2010 at 10:31 am

      Same to you. Hope it is a wonderful time for you.

  5. keewee said,

    April 4, 2010 at 8:45 am

    I love the way this rose changes color. It is like going into the garden every few days and finding something new.

    • Jan said,

      April 4, 2010 at 10:32 am

      Yes, I love it for the same reason. Mine seems to be doing better than ever, and I wonder if it is because of the cold winter we had.

  6. April 9, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Lovely Mutabalis photos Jan. It’s such a fun photo subject with it’s many stages.


Leave a Reply

