A Pink Favorite

“A Pink Favorite”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

This is my third blogging spring, and my favorite flowering tree has just started blooming.

 

 

We planted two Kwansan cherry trees just after we moved here, and, while they are starting to show their ages, they still produce the prettiest pink flowers around. Whenever we have a cold winter, they seem to bloom better, so this year should be a great one for flowers.

I am so happy that winter is gone and spring, with its accompanying rebirth, has become entrenched here.

10 Comments

  1. April 5, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Wow, I wondering if that was a camellia or a cherry tree.

  2. April 5, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Those are stunning flowers for a cherry!

  3. keewee said,

    April 5, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    I can see why you like them so much, they are beautiful.

  4. Floridagirl said,

    April 5, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Beautiful flowers! I had a Kwanzan cherry in my old Atlanta garden. It was always in full bloom on Easter. I miss my cherry trees!

  5. April 5, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Those flowers are truly beautiful. I can see why this is your favorite tree. I hope your Kwansan cherry tree has many more years of gorgeous spring flowers to come!

  6. Miranda Bell said,

    April 6, 2010 at 3:39 am

    A stunning photo – I bet the tree looks gorgeous! Hope you’ve had a lovely Easter – Miranda x

  7. gardeningasylum said,

    April 6, 2010 at 4:38 am

    What a lovely ruffled blossom – no wonder it’s your favorite!

  8. Sweet Bay said,

    April 6, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Kwansan Cherry trees are so beautiful. That’s a cherry tree I really want to try sometime. They seem pretty tough for a cherry.

  9. April 6, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I grow Kwanzan cherry trees — so I’m a bit amazed that you do, too! (Considering it’s winter 6 months out of the year where they live with me…) Aren’t they beautiful? One of my faves. Mine don’t get going until June 😦

  10. donna said,

    April 6, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    This is the start of my second blogging spring and I’ve been wondering if I will be blogging about all the same things as last year. Stay tuned:)

    The Kwansan blossom is so fluffy and delicious looking.

    donna


Leave a Reply

