Better Late Than Never

“Better Late Than Never”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Just as most other bloggers have noted, spring-flowering plants here are at least two to three weeks late in displaying their blooms. Usually, by this time, the amaryllis that are planted in the garden have almost finished blooming. But, not this year. The first of the garden amaryllis finally opened up.

 

 

All the other amaryllis varieties are just showing buds or buds on short stems, so it will be a few more days or a week before we see those flowers.

I didn’t buy any amaryllis this fall for winter blooms, and I have regretted that decision. Since these flowering bulbs are just about one of my favorite flowers, I always eagerly look forward to seeing their blooms in the garden. Looks like I finally will be enjoying a few weeks of of their beauty.

4 Comments

  1. ryublade said,

    April 9, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    I just posted the same title to my blog! Great minds think alike. Ha, Ha. I love your amaryllis. I have one that was gift but it hasn’t bloomed since I’ve planted it two years ago. It always grows these healthy looking leaves, though.

  2. Floridagirl said,

    April 9, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    Hmmmm….You beat me to the punch! I had the same post planned. My amaryllis have tall bud stems just ready to pop right now, and I knew such a post would be forthcoming on my blog in a couple days. Your bloom is beautiful! Though it blooms for such a short time, amaryllis are my favorite bulbs.

  3. April 9, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Everything was late blooming in my garden as well. Your amaryllis is stunning and worth waiting for!

  4. keewee said,

    April 10, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Mine from last year, grew some very nice healthy leaves but no blooms. Perhaps next year it will flower for me.


Leave a Reply

