Peak Time

“Peak Time”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

It is the peak time for the azaleas. With the cold winter we had, it seems the flowers are showier than they have been in years. Every neighborhood is awash in azaleas from the small varieties to the large shrub ones. In fact, whenever I see a large azalea, I am reminded of antebellum ladies with their large hoop skirts.

 

 

Mother Nature is certainly putting on quite a show this spring, and after such a dreary winter, everyone is very appreciative.

5 Comments

  1. youngwifey said,

    April 13, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Great photo. Our azaleas haven’t blooming yet. There are larger bushes in the neighborhood that have started just this week.

  2. April 13, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I love azaleas–they’re blooming everywhere here too. For some reason, it’s magnolias that make me think of antebellum ladies.

  3. GInny said,

    April 14, 2010 at 8:08 am

    The azaleas where I live are showier this year, too. I don’t think of antebellum ladies but I do think of antebellum houses when I see them.

  4. ryublade said,

    April 14, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Yup, the azaleas are blooming everywhere. So beautiful. My azaleas are taking their time this year. I just saw a bloom today.

  5. Swimray said,

    April 19, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Wow. Amaryllis growing outdoors. I wish.


Leave a Reply

