Big and Beautiful

“Big and Beautiful”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Big and beautiful is the only way to describe this flower. The first of the Louisiana irises has started blooming. This one is Marie Dolors which puts out big, white flowers.

 

 

I have this particular iris placed in the garden with Iceberg roses and white violas, and the three make a very nice combination. There is also white lilies nearby, but this year they are not blooming at this time.

Marie Dolors is a very vigorous iris and has done very well for me. The flowers are supported by thick stems which are showing multiple flowers blooming at the same time. This is only the second year I have had her, and already she has multiplied well. In another couple of years, there should be a good stand of this white beauty.

I really like white flowers, and this one is surely making this section of the garden lovely.

6 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    April 20, 2010 at 5:43 am

    Jan,
    You are right, she is a beauty. I’m not a big fan of white flowers, BUT I once saw a garden done entirely in white blooming plants and it was gorgeous! I have a beautiful white unknown iris that will be blooming soon, I think its an african or Siberian. I’ll let you know when I post a pic. 😉

    • Jan said,

      April 20, 2010 at 3:28 pm

      I would love to have an all white garden. Where this iris is planted, I only have white flowers so I have a small all white area. I can’t wait to see your photo of your iris.

  2. Phillip said,

    April 20, 2010 at 6:55 am

    Beautiful!

  3. Jeannie said,

    April 20, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Beautiful. Does it require shade, sun? I love this flower.

    • Jan said,

      April 20, 2010 at 3:26 pm

      Isn’t it gorgeous? Mine is planted in an area where it gets about six hours of sun. Louisiana irises can be grown all over from the Deep South to Canada.


Leave a Reply

