New Blooms – Iris

“New Blooms – Iris”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I knew once blooming started in my garden this year, everything would just explode into bloom all at once.  It seems that normally one new thing would bloom, then another.  Not this year, I can hardly keep up with the new flowers.  A few days ago, I posted about the first Louisiana Iris to bloom, Marie Dolers.  Now, there are others that have joined in.

My oldest Louisiana iris, Bayou Classic, has started blooming.  This is such a great flower – big and goes with everything.

 

 

I had hardly notice Bayou Classic when I turned and saw Kay Nelson, another LA iris, I just discovered last year was also blooming.

 

 

Even though there is a tremendous amount of new blooms showing up now, I am still able to stop and enjoy these two lovely flowers.

3 Comments

  1. April 24, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Very nice irises, Jan. I especially like Bayou Classic. My Louisiana bloom is a bit past peak. It sounds like you have more to look forward to. Post some more pictures!

    Patrick

  2. April 25, 2010 at 12:09 am

    Irises are blooming in your garden! In mine I still have to wait 4-5 weeks for them 🙂

  3. April 25, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    It can’t be that long, Jan. I’ll bet you are no more than two weeks behind. Normally, I would say one week, but this has been an odd year. I hope the bloom is great whenever it arrives. I’ve never seen it this late.

    Patrick


Leave a Reply

