Big Blooms

“Big Blooms”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I love this time of year!  After a cold, deary winter, to have warm, sunny days and flowers certainly makes for lifted spirits.

The amaryllis have started blooming.  Since I live in a mild climate, I am  able to grow these bulbs in the garden, and they normally bloom in late March, early April.  I usually buy a few around the holidays, but this year I didn’t and regretted that decision.  I missed having the flowers in mid-winter.  Luckily, I get a second chance at these flowers come spring time.

One of my favorites has just started blooming.  This is a true red, not an orange red which I do not find as attractive.

 

 

Another is a soft orange or salmon color.

 

 

Both of these amaryllis were given to me by friends who have now moved away. Every time I see these flowers, I always think of these two generous gardeners who shared a bit of their garden with me.

Right now, there are three varieties of amaryllis blooming in the garden (I posted about the earliest bloomers just a few days ago), and there are still a few more that should be blooming very soon. All these big, amaryllis blooms showing up now makes up for not having any during the dead of winter.

3 Comments

  1. Jeannie said,

    April 25, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    These plants always look so serious to me!! Kind of stately. I especially like the salmon one. I think I have only seen the Christmas red.

  2. Janet said,

    April 26, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    I have two Amaryllis in the garden, they are FINALLY poking their first leaves up through the soil. I am tickled they are still alive.

  3. donna said,

    April 27, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    It must be wonderful to walk through the garden and see these beautiful flowers blooming. Enjoy.

    donna


Leave a Reply

