Working on an Established Bed

“Working on an Established Bed”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Out of shape? Age catching up? Too much garden? Maybe the answer is all of the above. Yesterday and this morning, I worked in the garden doing a lot of bending over and stretching, and I really feel it now. It is a good thing I was able to accomplish so much or I’d be discouraged to feel this way with not much to show for it.

I cleaned out the entry garden making it ready to add some summer annuals which I will try and purchase Saturday. I really hated pulling out the violas which were still doing well but need to be pulled out by May because of the heat. First, I had to rake up 500,000 (not an exaggeration) magnolia leaves. With being out of town for five days, the leaves really piled up. Any that fall in the entry garden can not be raked up but must be picked out. Dear hubby made me a nifty little picker several years ago, so while it is not hard, it is time consuming.

I did move some things around. The Aztec grass that was scattered around the beds were moved to the front, and several red gerbera daisies were moved to sunnier areas and grouped together. I also had to move a daylily that was being crowded by a hosta. Most of my time was spent cleaning out the dead fronds on the holly ferns and pulling out the hundreds of Limelight artemesia that have sprung up. I have been trying to get rid of that artemesia for three years now, and I still expect some to appear later in the spring. Why or why do they sell this stuff?

 

Left Side

 

Right Side

 

Buying plants tomorrow and planting them is the fun part of gardening, and after all this grunt work, I am looking forward to some fun. I just hope my muscles will cooperate.

3 Comments

  1. garden mary said,

    May 1, 2010 at 1:20 am

    You are ahead of me. The weather has kept me from working in the garden and I need to really get started. Darn rain.

  2. Laura said,

    May 1, 2010 at 5:17 am

    Boy do I feel your pain- literally.
    It takes so much work, but it is so satisfying, isn’t it?
    I enjoyed visiting, and I will be back!

    Laura
    White Spray Paint
    Come by if you have time.

  3. Francis said,

    May 1, 2010 at 7:13 am

    I’m working in my garden this weekend and will be doing just about the same as you did. I can’t believe you have flowers already and are looking to put in the summer annuals. I won’t be doing that for a while yet.


Leave a Reply

