Big Flowers

“Big Flowers”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Spring is not my favorite time of the year. Autumn is my preferred season, but the garden does look its best in springtime. One of the reasons I think that that my garden looks so good at this time of year is the abundance of big flowers. Right now the big guys showing up are the amaryllis. In the last few posts I have featured the red, salmon, white, and Appleblossom amaryllises. Well, recently two more have opened to add to the show.

The first is an old-fashioned red that my sister gave me. While the flowers are a little smaller than the other more modern amaryllis, it still is a lovely flower.

 

 

The next one is a lovely pink amaryllis. When I bought this in the fall of 2009, it was labeled “Pink Diamond” and should have a white star center. As you can see, no white center in this one, but I don’t mind because I really wanted some pink amaryllis, and this one is so pretty. However, it is frustrating when things are mislabeled.

 

 

Small flowers that show up in abundance, azaleas, for instance, make a great showing, but having fewer large flowers also is good. The big guys really stand out on their own. After the amaryllis fade, the lilies take over. As a matter of fact, the first Triumphator lily opened yesterday. Looks like I will have a few more weeks of the big flowers making an appearance before summer’s smaller blooms take over the show.

5 Comments

  1. Sally said,

    May 2, 2010 at 6:01 am

    Love that pink amaryllis. It is a gorgeous color. I am used to the red, but must be on the lookout for other colors.

  2. May 2, 2010 at 6:04 am

    I can’t think of any really big flowers in our spring garden, other than maybe tulips. We are still enjoying tiny blooms or flowers that are really clusters of florets.

  3. Jeannie said,

    May 2, 2010 at 7:10 am

    It is really pretty. So bold!

  4. Khim said,

    May 2, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    just enjoying watching your amaryllis…thanks for sharing it…

    khim

  5. Lona said,

    May 2, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    our amaryllis are so beautiful. I fell in love with them last winter when I planted several bulbs dying for some color LOL!
    I had two that were miss labeled also. I like the ones that bloomed but they were not the ones I really wanted. I was told it happens quite a bet with bulbs. It is wonderful that you are able to grow them in your garden.


Leave a Reply

