Lily Success

“Lily Success”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

“But who will watch my lilies, When their blossoms open white? By day the sun shall be sentry, And the moon and the stars by night!” Bayard Taylor

When I first started gardening, I unknowingly tried to grow many plants that did not like the hot, humid, Deep South. After many failures, I decided that I would only put my efforts on plants that I definitely knew would do well in my climate. Therefore, I read many books about gardening in the Gulf Coast. More than one author advised against growing any lilies except lilium longiforum, the Easter lily. Other lilies just didn’t do well here.

While that advice may be true, I have found several lilies that have done extremely well for me. Of course, I found out by accident that certain lilies will do well in South Louisiana. The first one I planted was the Madonna Lily (lilium candidum). I have had this one for years, but it was only after moving it to where there was more sun did I start to see flowers. While it is a small lily, it is certainly a lovely one.

 

 

I did plant Easter lilies, which should be blooming soon, and they have done extremely well for me. The next one I planted was the Triumphator lily that was part of a group of plants in a child’s watering can. I just wanted the watering can, so I planted the included bulbs anywhere. I was shocked when the next spring I was rewarded with lovely flowers. Since then I have purchased more Triumphator lilies for other areas of the garden.

 

 

This spring, I tried another lily, Pink Heaven. It, like Triumphator, is related to lilium longiforum which does well here. At first, when I saw the buds, I was afraid the bulbs were mismarked and they wouldn’t be pink. However, when they opened, they were pink, just lighter than I thought they would be.

 

 

I have also branched out into some Asiatic lilies. These were a mix and not very expensive, but they have returned for three years now so something must be agreeing with them. A red one opened its flower yesterday.

 

 

So, I feel that the lilies have done very well in a zone where the “experts” discouraged me from trying to grow these lovely flowers. I still would like to try some more lilies in the garden. It would be nice if more gardeners in this area would try to grow these great plants.

6 Comments

  1. Deborah said,

    May 9, 2010 at 5:17 am

    Beautiful lilies. I can relate to attempting to grow things in the hot Deep South that can’t survive. I have daylilies right now, but I might have to try some more exotic ones next year.

  2. Lona said,

    May 9, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Lilies already. How wonderful. These are beauties I really like your Pink Heaven.

  3. ryublade said,

    May 9, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Jan, your lilies are beautiful. Our first year in my house, we planted many lilies which didn’t bloom very well and I thought they died out. But lately, I’ve noticed that some of them may have survived and started growing back. I hold great hopes for them after reading your post. My Easter lilies which my mom gave me should also be blooming any day now.

  4. Nell Jean said,

    May 9, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    It seems to me that the hotter the climate, the paler the lily. Few of mine ever look as brilliantly colored as the photos from cooler climates.

    My mother grew Regal lilies. I like all the hybrids that have Longiflorum in the cross. My fav is called ‘Orania’ — they’ll be blooming soon.

  5. May 9, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I had a problem with my lilies rotting when I lived in the delta. I solved the problem by growing them in containers.

  6. tina said,

    May 9, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    You are one smart gardener to research your growing conditions AND to try out different things. The plants don’t know what the experts say afterall:)


Leave a Reply

