Sister, Sister

“Sister, Sister”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

 

The nun’s orchid is blooming. The flower resembles the traditional nun’s hood, hence the name. This is an extremely easy to grow orchid since it it a terrestrial. I grow mine on my front porch where it gets bright light, and I only protect it if a hard freeze is predicted. The flower stalks are about three feet high and are covered with the sweet-smelling flowers.

 

 

This is such an unusual flower, and this plant makes a nice statement by the front door. If you are interested in more facts about how to grow this lovely plant, click here.

5 Comments

  1. LC said,

    May 11, 2010 at 5:41 am

    I just purchased a ‘Savage Splendor’ magnolia and your blog came up… It is lovely and I am anxious to study your archives! Larry

    • Jan said,

      May 11, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      I am not familiar with ‘Savage Splendor’ so I looked it up. The pictures show a very lovely flower that you should enjoy. Our grandiflora magnolias are blooming now, but the flowers are too high up this year to get a good photo to post. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. LC said,

    May 11, 2010 at 5:42 am

    I meant to include that I was googling the new magnolia! Larry

  3. Randy said,

    May 11, 2010 at 5:56 am

    Jan,
    Jamie had a nun’s orchid last year and we forgot to bring it in and it froze! Maybe he’ll get another this year, they’re wonderful plants!

  4. nancybond said,

    May 11, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Wow, it’s beautiful! I don’t seem to have much luck with orchids, unfortunately. I think I fuss over them too much. :-/


Leave a Reply

