Daylily Dreams

“Daylily Dreams”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Whenever I buy a new plant, I can hardly wait for it to bloom. Lately, I have been dreaming of the daylilies, the ones I purchased last summer as well as the old favorites that have been in the garden for years. This year, I have had to wait a little longer for the daylilies to bloom since this year’s blooms are almost a month behind previous years’.

The first to bloom this year was an old daylily that my mother gave me from her garden. These daylilies must be from the ’60’s. I know they have been in my garden at least twenty years.

 

 

The next daylily to flower was good, old dependable Stella d’ora. This spring, I moved a few of these to join up with several others I had in one bed. I think having a mass of these makes a better show.

 

 

The final one to bloom this week was one I bought and planted just last year. It was unlabled, but it certainly is a pretty pink and seems to be very vigorous. It looks like it might grow enough this summer that I can divide it in the fall.

 

 

Most of the other daylilies growing in the garden are showing buds, so it looks like I will be doing a little more daylily dreaming over the next few weeks.

6 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    May 12, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I noticed my daylilies were just starting to show buds. I really like that pink ruffled one.

  2. Nell Jean said,

    May 13, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Daylilies are beginning to open here, always an exciting time.

    If you go in the WordPress dashboard, you can change you setting to ‘Full text” so that your text and pics show up in the Picks frame on Blotanical rather than just 3 lines of text. Visitors won’t have to click an extra button.

  3. Randy said,

    May 13, 2010 at 8:13 am

    That last one sure is a stunner! Very Pretty!

  4. donna said,

    May 13, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Lots of Stellas in my yard and I never tire of them…they are so generous with their blooms. To have daylilies from your mother’s garden is truly special.

    donna

  5. May 16, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    I love that unlabeled daylily, but really, I love them all. I have been adding more and more to my yard, too. I got some for half off last fall that were in gallon containers. They are good sized already, and it looks like they should have some nice blooms this summer.

    I have a passalong repeat bloomer full of flowers, and a few buds on some plants, but most won’t bloom until closer to July.


Leave a Reply

