Gardenia Time

“Gardenia Time”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Around this time, every year, I become very nostalgic. It is what I like to call “Gardenia Time”. You see, years ago, this was the time that we were looking to buy a house. We had found out just recently that we were to become parents and needed to move out of an apartment. When we came to tour the house we eventually bought, there were many gardenia bushes, and they were in full bloom. These old, established shrubs were covered in white flowers, and the aroma was incredible. I am sure all those flowers had a big impact on our decision to buy this house.

Through the years, unfortunately, we have lost many of those original shrubs, but there are still a few around, and replacements have been added. All of them have started blooming and bringing with those blooms, memories.

 

 

 

 

One of the gardenia bushes that has been added to the originals is the Daisy Gardenia, a single-bloom gardenia. This one, my mother rooted for me from her bush. This makes it twice as nice.

 

 

It is said that the sense of smell is the most evocative and brings back memories the quickest. Whenever I walk out into the garden at this time of year, I am immediately brought back to a time when dear hubby and I were embarking on new adventures – home ownership and parenthood.

7 Comments

  1. Nell Jean said,

    May 15, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Your gardenias bloom ahead of mine. I expect the fat buds here to be opening before June first.

    Do you ever root cuttings? They root easily. I’ve gone from having gardenia bushes to having gardenia hedges. When I got the bright idea to limb some up into tree forms, it didn’t work well. They WANT to be shrubs with full bottoms.

    • Jan said,

      May 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm

      Nell, I have never rooted cuttings, but my mother has. Maybe, this year I will give it a try.

  2. Jeannie said,

    May 15, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I can smell them as you speak about them. Happy Memories.

  3. May 16, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    Hi Jan,
    I enjoyed reading about your memories brought on by the smell and beauty of the gardenias. I don’t think they grow in our area. I think that’s the white flower I grew inside when I was in my 20s. I remember reading a book, I think, by Ruth Stout, saying how difficult it is to have them bloom in the house, and I was tickled that I had one blooming.

    That daisy blooming one looks fun to grow. I like all of them.

  4. debsgarden said,

    May 16, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Your gardenias are very beautiful! My gardenias aren’t blooming yet, but I have a large one in the woodland garden that will perfume the whole area. It is amazing how smell brings back memories. It is one of the things that makes a garden special.

  5. tina said,

    May 17, 2010 at 4:54 am

    I so wish I could grow gardenias! Yours are so pretty and I can only imagine the scent. That daisy your mother rooted is indeed extra special.

  6. May 18, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Sigh…. Lucky you. I wish I could grow Gardenias. They have such a lovely, intoxicating fragrance. And, such delicate, pretty flowers…


Leave a Reply

