Survivor

“Survivor”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Everyone seems to be remarking about the effects of the unusually cold winter we all had. Effects that are still being seen now. I lost a few plants that were tropicals, but I also seem to have lost a few plants that are hardy here and have returned in previous years. I haven’t given up entirely on some of these plants returning especially after what has popped up and was noticed this weekend.

 

 

Yes, the sweet potato vine, Margarite, has returned. I had this variety plus other sweet potato vines growing all around the garden, and they have reliably returned for about five years now. With the unusual cold, especially in January, I was certain that I would have to replace them this year. The thick layer of pine straw mulch must have protected the tuber enough so that it has survived. This is the only one so far that has shown up, but I am hopeful that others will not be to far behind.

I noticed a few of the caladiums in the front garden have started showing up. I didn’t think any would return after the cold, wet winter we had. They are in a well-drained area, but still, I didn’t think any would return this year. Maybe this winter wasn’t as bad as I thought. Some of these “survivors” certainly have surprised me by surviving.

1 Comment

  1. May 24, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    It’s funny, Jan, that we had a mild winter up here. More snow than in recent years, but that’s a good thing, for us. More snow cover helps protect the plants. We only had a couple of days that got below zero! That’s not our usual. I’d have to say it was just about the perfect winter for us. I’m sorry that you had a colder one. It’s always a waiting game to see what survives, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

