A Little Visitor

“A Little Visitor”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

With what is going on right now in the Gulf of Mexico with that gushing oil well, wildlife, any wildlife, seems more precious. Even though I live in a subdivision, we are still have undeveloped areas around us and occasionally see wildlife in our yards. We used to see a lot more when we first moved here many years ago, but development seemed to displace our “wild” friends. Now, that neighborhood is more settled with mature trees and shrubs, we seem to be getting our wildlife back. I see a lot more box turtles and, yes, even snakes, now than I have in years. Last week we had quail in our back garden, something we haven’t seen in probably thirty years.

Last year, there was a brown rabbit that made an appearance in our back garden. We used to see rabbits all the time when we first bought our home, but gradually we saw them less and less. Last week I twice disturbed something while watering the garden in the early morning, but it was too fast for me to make out what it was. I now think I have solved that mystery.

 

 

Yes, a little brown rabbit must be living nearby. I have seen it mostly near the area where my neighbor has let underbrush develop between our properties. There used to be possums living under their garden shed, but we have trapped and relocated those, so maybe the rabbit has moved into the old burrows. Who knows? I am just glad to see that our area has become hospitable to not only birds, turtles, quail, but now a rabbit. The snake, now, is another matter. I am not so sure that is as welcomed a little visitor.

7 Comments

  1. Carolyn said,

    May 30, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Enjoy that little brown bunny! And I’m wishing and waiting for the quail, they are in the older neighborhoods here, but mine is too new.

  2. garden337 said,

    May 30, 2010 at 11:31 am

    That snake will control the mice population that exists everywhere, even subdivisions. I’d like to see a snake in my garden, actually. I never have.

    • Jan said,

      May 30, 2010 at 1:36 pm

      That’s exactly what my husband says every time I see a snake. Since we have only seen harmless snakes, it is the suddenness of their appearance which bothers me.

  3. May 30, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I enjoyed your post about the wildlife in your neighborhood 🙂 We have quite a bit in ours as well, including snakes and rabbits (just like your little brown bunny), but since we’re in the Sonoran desert of southern Arizona, the habitat and some of the animals are quite different! If you visit my blog at http://www.morning-glory-garden.blogspot.com you can see a couple of recent posts relating to wildlife – and of course, lots about the garden. I’m delighted to have discovered your blog.

  4. donna said,

    May 31, 2010 at 7:04 am

    The problem with that cute bunny is that there is never just ONE bunny. Before you know it, you’ll be tripping over them and then you’ll start to notice that some of your plants have been chewed down to the ground. But, that’s to be expected. They’re trying to survive, like us. We’ve lived in our house since 1993 and it’s been interesting to see the change in wildlife. Turkeys are our latest addition, they seem to be all over the place.

    I follow two LA garden blogs and think of you both when hearing the oil news in the Gulf. What’s happening breaks my heart and makes my angry.

    donna

    • Jan said,

      May 31, 2010 at 3:50 pm

      Donna, I am hoping that the rabbit population will stay down. When we first moved in and there were rabbits, we never had a problem with them eating the plants because there was only one or two around. There are a lot of cats and dogs in the neighborhood, so that probably discourages large numbers of rabbits from moving in.

      The oil spill is just horrible. There are so many frightened people afraid of losing their livelihoods and homes if they cannot work. The thought of a hurricane coming through and dispersing oil all over the Gulf has me so upset. When this first happened 41 days ago, I was angry but also despairing – very much the feelings after Katrina – feelings of helplessness in the face of so much damage. It breaks my heart to see the wildlife damaged or dead.

  5. ellada said,

    June 1, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    It must be fantastic to see one like that in your garden. You are very lucky.


Leave a Reply

